Forums / Gun Discussion / Our Soldiers

7 years 12 weeks ago, 5:02 AM

samson

samson's picture

Private
Our Soldiers

5.56 What a joke as an old soldier I would use a 7.62 or 303 to save my ass not a pussy round like a 223. Let's be fair Dinkim it is them or us when you are in the thick of it.

7 years 5 weeks ago, 3:49 PM

Anonymous

of course, you would choose 7.62x51 (.308) if you are in a stationary shootout (larger grain bullet, more energy etc...) but when you are in 110 degree weather and you are doing rounds on foot patrol... a soldier can carry 240 rds. (8 30rd. mags) of .556 or .223 vs. carring 120 rounds of 7.62x51 (6 20rd. mags)at the same weight... Personally i would much rather carry twice as many rounds if my convoy was being attacked. And by the way, have you seen what a 55 grain .556 round does to a human body. Well i have and its not pretty. the small bullet tumbles end over end when it enters your flesh causing an entrence/exit wound the circumference of the length of the bullet. I feel safe enough carring my m4 carbine.

6 years 27 weeks ago, 1:12 PM

1345usmclcpl

1345usmclcpl's picture

Colonel

When i was overseas my m4 was my best friend. And yes it will lay a person down with no problem ---->failure drill all the way.

6 years 27 weeks ago, 12:42 PM

sytasyn_syn

sytasyn_syn's picture

General
this bugs me