Forums / Gun Discussion / 5.56

4 years 40 weeks ago, 5:23 PM

gunfanatic

gunfanatic's picture

Colonel

the m193 and the m855 which rifle twists are optimized for each and what adverse effects of firing a m193 out a rifle made for the m855 and vice cersa

4 years 40 weeks ago, 5:38 PM

catfish88

catfish88's picture

General

gunfanatic, I'm no expert, but a 1:7 twist rate is good for heavier loads and 1:9 is good for lighter loads. I beleive the M193 is 55 grain and the M855 is 62 grain. However, you can shoot both of those fine in a 1:9 twist rate, it's just not optimum for 62 grain. I've heard of guys shooting lighter loads in a 1:7, causing the bullet to overspin and having the jacket seperate from the core. I've never seen it myself. Somebody with more knowledge than me will come along and give you some better info.

4 years 40 weeks ago, 6:28 AM

runawaygun762

runawaygun762's picture

Vice President
Rifle twists

There are no adverse effects to speak of. We still have both in the inventory in the army, and I've carried both on deployment. The M4, 1:9 twist, works fine for both. 1:12 twist, like my wife's Remington varmint bolt gun, should not have 62 grain and above fired through it, as accuracy will suck.

"I have always been a soldier. I have known no other life. The calling of arms, I have followed from boyhood. I have never sought another." From The Virtues of War, by Steven Pressfield.
4 years 37 weeks ago, 1:50 PM

jay sedler

jay sedler's picture

Lieutenant General
runaway,

on a similar subject,have you fired much 223 rem through a 5.56 nato chamber?if so,how is the acuracy?im building an ar presently,never fired one before and so i havnt experemented.I havnt got a barrel yet.thinking of geting one from dez arms,mach grade turned on center buton rifled 1;9 med wt Hbar in 5.56.any advice?wondering how well the 223 does in a 5.56 should i just stick to 5.56 amo?

CRY HAVOC and let slip the dogs of war!
4 years 36 weeks ago, 11:48 AM

Mannyt