Forums / Gun Discussion / Black tip 308 winchester bullets Legal?

2 years 31 weeks ago, 9:19 PM

DEMO

DEMO's picture

Lieutenant General

I picked up Black tipped tungsten core bullets. Are these legal? Can I reload these without being non compliant? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do
2 years 31 weeks ago, 10:47 PM

ronin1604

ronin1604's picture

Lieutenant General
I'm no expert..

So, PLEASE VERIFY what I'm about to say. As I understand it, " Armor-piercing" laws only apply to PISTOL ammunition. Rifle ammo is still legal.

__________________ "...He that hath no sword, let him sell his garment and buy one." - Jesus, Luke 22:36
2 years 31 weeks ago, 12:39 PM

Saint J.M. Browning

Saint J.M. Browning's picture

General
AP Ammo

This should clear thing up a bit. Still confusion if you ask me.

http://www.recguns.com/Sources/IIG1.html

"I don't think Hank done it this way" - Waylon
2 years 31 weeks ago, 7:09 PM

DEMO

DEMO's picture

Lieutenant General
Thanks!

Just trying to stay legal

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do
2 years 30 weeks ago, 8:02 AM

ronin1604

ronin1604's picture

Lieutenant General
Like I said...

Pistol ammo... and rifle ammo to be used in pistols. Sounds like the making is out also, but I am curious as to where you would get the components to make it.

__________________ "...He that hath no sword, let him sell his garment and buy one." - Jesus, Luke 22:36
2 years 30 weeks ago, 8:22 AM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture

Secretary of the Treasury
the making