Bersa Thunder .380 Duo Tone

One of the best built .380ACPs for the price!

Performance

I recently purchased it and took it to the range the other day. The recoil is decent and the trigger pull is what I would call decent too. The Argentinians seem to have hit it on the head with the Bersa line of firearms. At 23 ounces, it is light enough to carry all the time and the mechanics of the pistol are spot on.

Features

Lots of good safety features, including the lock out "switch" just above and front of the trigger guard. The de-cocker is a welcome part of the pistol for carrying. It fairly resembles the Walther PPK in looks and feel.

Appeal

Light, very concealable, affordable

Summary

Headline: 

One of the best built .380ACPs for the price!

Performance Rating: 
10
Performance: 

I recently purchased it and took it to the range the other day. The recoil is decent and the trigger pull is what I would call decent too. The Argentinians seem to have hit it on the head with the Bersa line of firearms. At 23 ounces, it is light enough to carry all the time and the mechanics of the pistol are spot on.

Features Rating: 
10
Features: 

Lots of good safety features, including the lock out "switch" just above and front of the trigger guard. The de-cocker is a welcome part of the pistol for carrying. It fairly resembles the Walther PPK in looks and feel.

Appeal Rating: 
10
Appeal: 

Light, very concealable, affordable

Overall Rating: 
9.60

I would recommend the Bersa Thunder .380 to anyone who is looking for an affordable well made carry pistol. I started out carrying a full size 1911 style pistol and have replaced it with this gun. Take the time to check one out, you will be amazed by the workmanship and the price of this pistol. I bought mine for $320.00, but I have seen them cheaper elsewhere. The stainless and the duo tone are more expensive than the blue on blue, but still more affordable than a comparable Sig Sauer P232 any way you look at it. Try one out and see what you think! You will be pleased I am sure!

8 Comments

5 years 1 day ago, 10:43 PM

Anonymous

Bersa firearms

I havent had the pleasure of firing any yet but I have worked on a few of the older ones.mainly the Thunders for various reasons but none of the reasons are bad enough for me to state here.usually because of user damage,even though i have found it hard to beleive.well built weapons for a more than fair price!

5 years 1 day ago, 10:50 PM

6464mt

6464mt's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant Colonel
Points:
90
Join Date:
Apr 2009
Location:
Dover, PA, United States
Good Reviews

I have not found a bad review either on-line nor in any of the magazines I have read. I guess these along with the prices as stated in my review encouraged me to purchase. Even on YouTube, I found some related videos and reviews that were good.

5 years 1 day ago, 10:55 PM

Anonymous

Bersa firearms

get written off as questionable but they are really well made guns.These and other South American gun makers are quite skilled and build great guns.Bersa,Taurus,Rossi/Braztech/Taurus are all decent guns but alot of gun folks write them off because of the lower prices.dumbasses!

5 years 1 day ago, 12:32 AM

greg az

greg az's picture

Rank:
Secretary of Homeland Security
Points:
5873
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
New York, NY, Brunei Darussalam

First thing that caught my eye was the ppk reference, and yep, thought mine sure looked like a walther. Loved it, light enough to carry backpacking, and only issue was getting an extra mag.. Been awile, this was in the eightys, but don't think i ever did get another mag for it.. sure liked it tho.. Mine was the first hammer drop safty i ever had, and had three dot white sights back before they were common.. don't remember ever having a stove pipe, and as much as i love my P-22 I cant shoot anything but jacketed in it with out feed ramp issues..

a man has to hold his word, hold his beliefs, and hold a good sight picture.
5 years 1 day ago, 6:21 AM

TXLUCKYGUY

TXLUCKYGUY's picture

Rank:
Major General
Points:
378
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Bersa

Back around 99-00, before Bersa marketed the pistols under the 'Thunder' moniker, a range I was teaching at sold a ton of them. I never cared for .380s, DA/SA autos, or the brand, but their little .380 worked like a top.

I fired the rental gun a BUNCH. It fit my hand, ran 100%, and if I find a good deal on a used one I'll probably snag it. It's one of the few 'cheap' guns that I honestly think is worth the price tag.

4 years 27 weeks ago, 5:32 PM

ohioshooter

ohioshooter's picture

Rank:
Brigadier General
Points:
213
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
make them look for me lol , ohio , United States
i own

i own a 22 auto shoots well and the only thing it only like one brand of ammo and i have the 45 ultra compact pro matte no problems with this one at all i carry it i carry all my handguns at differant times one of the safest hand guns on the market and a very fair price

"I carry a gun cause a cop is too heavy."
4 years 14 weeks ago, 10:53 AM

Doc2233

Doc2233's picture

Rank:
Brigadier General
Points:
235
Join Date:
Oct 2010
Location:
Connecticut, United States
Own a Bersa 9mm

Bersa handguns are the best kept secret out there in terms of quality guns at a great price. I recently purchased a Thunder Pro UC 9mm and it is the best purchase I have made in awhile.

"A free people ought to be armed." - George Washington

Rating Overview

Editor Rating:
User Rating:
(1 vote)

Performance:
Features:
Appeal:
This text will be replaced

Recent Activity