EAA Witness 10mm Gun Review

EAA Witness is a form of pistol designed with CZ 75 in mind. Its form is not necessarily the same to the Czechoslovakian pistol, but it has learned a few lessons from the well-known pistol. The manufacturer has adopted these lessons to the EAA Witness and the result is a great looking gun. EAA Witness is a series of pistols and was manufactured in Italy. In this review, we'll take a look at the full 10mm version of the pistol. A compact version exists which is naturally a smaller version.

Performance

The EAA Witness 10mm version provides a 15-round capacity. This easily puts the EAA Witness 10mm on top over many pistols since most are only able to provide 14 rounds or even less. The extra round capacity may not matter in casual situations but it will prove to be a lifesaver if you're in danger.
Another advantage a gun enthusiast may enjoy from the EAA Witness 10mm is the firm grip. As already indicated, this gun traces its roots from the CZ 75 which is known for its design that improves handling. But aside from the ease in handling because of its form, the rugged surface on the handle makes it very easy to hold and control the gun's recoil. As a full size 10mm, this version of 10mm can be a bit heavy and can have powerful recoil. But the handle enables more efficient control. You might not even notice the extra weight caused by its metal components.

Features

Accuracy for the EAA Witness 10mm should not cause any problem. The firm grip, relatively longer barrel length (3.625") and the ergonomic design should help any shooter adjust to the sights easily. Although the rear sights are a little bit higher than expected, an experienced shooter should have no problem adjusting. Those beginning with pistols might have some trouble adjusting but the sights are not really an issue when practicing.

Appeal

EAA Witness 10mm is a simple but a very powerful pistol. It has followed the design philosophy of the one of the iconic pistols in the world and provided additional features to make it more relevant for current needs. It may cost a little bit but it's not the most expensive pistol in the market.

Summary

Headline: 

EAA Witness is a form of pistol designed with CZ 75 in mind. Its form is not necessarily the same to the Czechoslovakian pistol, but it has learned a few lessons from the well-known pistol. The manufacturer has adopted these lessons to the EAA Witness and the result is a great looking gun. EAA Witness is a series of pistols and was manufactured in Italy. In this review, we'll take a look at the full 10mm version of the pistol. A compact version exists which is naturally a smaller version.

Performance Rating: 
8.3
Performance: 

The EAA Witness 10mm version provides a 15-round capacity. This easily puts the EAA Witness 10mm on top over many pistols since most are only able to provide 14 rounds or even less. The extra round capacity may not matter in casual situations but it will prove to be a lifesaver if you're in danger.
Another advantage a gun enthusiast may enjoy from the EAA Witness 10mm is the firm grip. As already indicated, this gun traces its roots from the CZ 75 which is known for its design that improves handling. But aside from the ease in handling because of its form, the rugged surface on the handle makes it very easy to hold and control the gun's recoil. As a full size 10mm, this version of 10mm can be a bit heavy and can have powerful recoil. But the handle enables more efficient control. You might not even notice the extra weight caused by its metal components.

Features Rating: 
8
Features: 

Accuracy for the EAA Witness 10mm should not cause any problem. The firm grip, relatively longer barrel length (3.625") and the ergonomic design should help any shooter adjust to the sights easily. Although the rear sights are a little bit higher than expected, an experienced shooter should have no problem adjusting. Those beginning with pistols might have some trouble adjusting but the sights are not really an issue when practicing.

Appeal Rating: 
7.7
Appeal: 

EAA Witness 10mm is a simple but a very powerful pistol. It has followed the design philosophy of the one of the iconic pistols in the world and provided additional features to make it more relevant for current needs. It may cost a little bit but it's not the most expensive pistol in the market.

Overall Rating: 
0.00

The main disadvantage of EAA Witness 10mm is that the manufacturer opted to change the design of the slide. The new version has rounded top slides while the old version is more flat. While the rounded top doesn't pose any problem or challenges when shooting, there have been reports of cracked slides. Although it's not a general problem with the rounded top slides, it still pays to avoid the rounded top design. Look for the older design which has a flat slide so that you will avoid the possibility of having a cracked slide.

The current price of EAA Witness 10mm is usually from $350 to $400. It's relatively expensive today because of its increasing popularity. A few years ago, this form of pistol can be easily bought for less than $300.

18 Comments

4 years 50 weeks ago, 6:32 AM

charley9toe

charley9toe's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant General
Points:
1114
Join Date:
Mar 2009
10mm

has always been a favorite of mine. I currently shoot it in a Glock 20. The cartridge is very versatile in that reduced strength cartridges may be used and it's still effective. The cartridge really comes into its own when barrel length is extended to 6inches or more. There aren't many manufacturers making pistols or revolvers in 10MM so if you can snag one;go for it, enjoy.

(You have to look behind all of that outer space stuff)
4 years 49 weeks ago, 12:43 PM

Tommyray

Tommyray's picture

Rank:
Sergeant
Points:
10
Join Date:
Aug 2009
stoeger cougar

Anybody have experience with this pistol?

4 years 49 weeks ago, 12:51 PM

Reaper308

Reaper308's picture


Rank:
Secretary of Defense
Points:
6226
Join Date:
Jun 2008
Location:
Airstrip One, Oceania
cougar

ebear has one. its basically a half priced beretta from turkey

"Proelium Comminus Auctoritate" "Sometimes the light at the end of the tunnel is a muzzle flash."
4 years 49 weeks ago, 12:56 PM

Tommyray

Tommyray's picture

Rank:
Sergeant
Points:
10
Join Date:
Aug 2009
Reaper308

Thanks again,I have never owned a semi automatic or a hand gun period.Now I'm in the market and saw a 9mm review that gave the cougar and hi point high ratings.I have owned a 22 LR rifle and a 870 express shotgun.

4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:00 PM

runawaygun762

runawaygun762's picture

Rank:
Vice President
Points:
8929
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Richland, MO, United States
Tommyray

What's your budget for a handgun? Reaper's full of shit, but I know everything. Just kidding. We're both full of shit, but I'm sure we can bounce our heads on the keyboards until something helpful comes out.

"I have always been a soldier. I have known no other life. The calling of arms, I have followed from boyhood. I have never sought another." From The Virtues of War, by Steven Pressfield.
4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:04 PM

Reaper308

Reaper308's picture


Rank:
Secretary of Defense
Points:
6226
Join Date:
Jun 2008
Location:
Airstrip One, Oceania
tommy

the 870 is a good shotty. I have no experience with the cougar. The only beretta I have experience with is the M9/92F. I know stoeger bought the rights to sell the cougar. From what I've heard, the quality is still pretty good. I know ebear bought one, so you may want to ask him. I think he's been talking about ditching it for an XDM for some time, but the pawnshops won't take his EBT card.

What caliber or particular handgun are you looking for? Are you gonna carry concealed, or for home defense? What is your price range?

"Proelium Comminus Auctoritate" "Sometimes the light at the end of the tunnel is a muzzle flash."
4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:07 PM

runawaygun762

runawaygun762's picture

Rank:
Vice President
Points:
8929
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Richland, MO, United States

It's so dumb. Yes, it's good to do after you've narrowed your search to a few different types. The best feeling, most comfortable pistol to shoot is probably the Ruger MK2 .22 LR pistol, but is it really the best anti-personnel handgun out there? No. I post this because you are bound to get this advice from someone.

"I have always been a soldier. I have known no other life. The calling of arms, I have followed from boyhood. I have never sought another." From The Virtues of War, by Steven Pressfield.
4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:08 PM

Tommyray

Tommyray's picture

Rank:
Sergeant
Points:
10
Join Date:
Aug 2009
runawaygun762

I can afford about 500$ max I'll be needing it for security work,my arms instructor had us fire through his glock to get certified and to be honest I really wasn't impressed.It jammed once and misfired twice.He took it from me and oiled the slide about halfway through.I saw a real good review on the cougar,I was thinking I could get both the cougar for everyday use and maybe get the hi-tec for house and range practice.Sort of a kick around pistol.

4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:13 PM

Reaper308

Reaper308's picture


Rank:
Secretary of Defense
Points:
6226
Join Date:
Jun 2008
Location:
Airstrip One, Oceania
tommy

get one good one for work and the house/practice. Thats pretty unusual about the Glock misfire and jam and not typical of the brand. I've owned three glocks and never had a problem with any. If you didn't like the Glock, have you looked into an Springfield XD or a S&W M&P? They're all in the same price range

"Proelium Comminus Auctoritate" "Sometimes the light at the end of the tunnel is a muzzle flash."
4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:18 PM

Tommyray

Tommyray's picture

Rank:
Sergeant
Points:
10
Join Date:
Aug 2009
reaper308

NO,I just started looking the local gun shop has glock,H&k,cz and a amall selection of s&W.Kind of pricey stuff,my brother in tennessee likes rugers,I have a few weeks I think i'll take your advice and test fire a few at the ranges.

4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:22 PM

runawaygun762

runawaygun762's picture

Rank:
Vice President
Points:
8929
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Richland, MO, United States
500 max?

I agree with Reaper, that's not indicitive of the Glock to have those problems. I have three now and have owned two others in the past and haven't had that many malfunctions with all five combined. If you look at my pictures, the new lubrication for the glock pic, you'll see one of the only two downsides to a Glock. If you have meaty hands or a high grip, you'll end up with a Glock skidmark on the web of your firing hand. It's an annoyance for me, but a dealbreaker for some. The other downside is the terrible factory sights. All of my Glocks have ended up with aftermarket sights, as the factory ones are garbage. Look very hard at used guns. With modern firearms, it's nearly impossible to wear them out and you end up paying much less than the new price which allows money left over for magazines, practice ammo, and accessories. Glocks and XDs are at the top of the heap, but Taurus makes good guns, as does Ruger and Beretta. If you plan to use it strictly for work, then I assume you are looking for a full-size "service" type gun, right?

"I have always been a soldier. I have known no other life. The calling of arms, I have followed from boyhood. I have never sought another." From The Virtues of War, by Steven Pressfield.
4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:24 PM

Tommyray

Tommyray's picture

Rank:
Sergeant
Points:
10
Join Date:
Aug 2009
reaper308

I can't be to critical of the glock,it was my first time shooting a 9mm semi-auto,and I was about the eighth or ninth guy to shoot it that day.I fired a 22 ruger luger when I was 15,that was many years ago.

4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:26 PM

Tommyray

Tommyray's picture

Rank:
Sergeant
Points:
10
Join Date:
Aug 2009
runawaygun762

Yes a full size service pistol,I'm going to take your advice a test fire a few.

4 years 49 weeks ago, 1:34 PM

runawaygun762

runawaygun762's picture

Rank:
Vice President
Points:
8929
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Richland, MO, United States
Of course you are

For fullsize guns, here's my list of candidates

Glock 17, 21, 22
XD 9, 40, or 45
Beretta 92FS
Ruger P90, P94, P944, P935
Taurus PT92, PT99
Sig P220, 226

"I have always been a soldier. I have known no other life. The calling of arms, I have followed from boyhood. I have never sought another." From The Virtues of War, by Steven Pressfield.
4 years 40 weeks ago, 11:28 PM

marlinwalker

marlinwalker's picture

Rank:
Corporal
Points:
5
Join Date:
Oct 2009

I purchased a full size steel framed witness in 10mm about a year ago in the rounded slide configuration about a year ago for $400. I really like the gun as it shoots well and has a great, very little slack trigger pull when fired in SA. Accuracy is very good as well. I shoot only full power handloads out of it, 1300 fps 180grs, not the 1100 fps garbage that you buy everywhere. Here are the problems with it and how I remedied them:

The slide cracked on it as others are reporting and this is because of two reasons. #1. The rounded slide is a inferior set up and EAA has since discontinued importing them with this slide. All newer ones and the replacement slides are back to the original square model and are much more strong. #2. The stock recoil spring is 16 lbs and is much to weak for full power 10mm. You can really feel the slide smacking the frame with this light spring. After the slide cracked, i contacted EAA and sent the gun back. A 3 week turn around got me a free replacement slide that was square. I also went to midwayusa.com and purchased a Wolff 22lb recoil spring for it which really softened the felt recoil. Also from Midway, I ordered +10% magazine springs to keep up with faster slide return to battery to eliminate any nose dives. Since these upgrades I have fired about a 1000 rounds though it with out hiccup. So for 20 bucks in springs it's my favorite and most reliable pistol I own.

Brass ejection can be a problem for some, depending on tastes but there is a workaround to that as well. Even with the 22lbs recoil spring, it will through brass to the right into the next zipcode. If you are a reloader like me and need to keep your brass, take a dremel tool and file the ejector rod to about half of what it is stock. This keeps your brass to just a few feet to the right and no problem finding. It may seem like alot of work but it's really not much, and it's cheap (20$).

I highly recommend the pistol and it's a great value. Just make sure you buy the ones with the square slide and do the couple upgrades and you can have a great, inexpensive 10mm.

3 years 29 weeks ago, 10:52 AM

Eric D.

Eric D.'s picture

Rank:
Sergeant First Class
Points:
13
Join Date:
Nov 2010
Location:
GA, United States

EAA has done nothing to remedy this cracking issue, there have been two in the past 6 months posted on the CZ Clone forum that have been back to EAA. One had a slide replaced, the other was refunded on the spot by the dealer after 3 range visits. The repaired witness has now cracked its second slide, both slides under 500 rounds, it's in 40 S&W. The first was a 45ACP and both were compact models.

There have been reports of 9mm and 45 full size cracking as well, it's not just the 10mm, but it may just be the round slide weapons. But why in the **** would EAA put another round slide on a repaired pistol that has already cracked once?? ...and why not send new recoil springs out with the repaired pistols when one comes in busted??

I have a friend who purchased a poly witness in 9mm a few years ago, it cracked the front frame insert within 50 rounds of Winchester white box. We argued with EAA on shipping the return, but finally bought the insert and I repaired it for free, since he bought the witness partly based on my recommendation. It was cheaper for him to buy the part and have me install it than to ship the pistol to EAA, it was put on consignment 2 days after we repaired it.

They've also been known to charge $20 "Return Fee" for you to send their defective weapon in at your expense.

Yet they still sell the round slide pistols in all calibers.

The link below is a recent thread at CZ forums and the link to the June thread is contained in reply #3.

http://www.czforumsite.info/index.php?topic=34988.0

****Update on the above Compact in 40 S&W:

The thread linked above has been deleted by the moderator at the CZ Forum. The link below is the latest on this particular pistol at a different forum.

http://tz75man.forumco.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=186

It has its fourth slide now, but this one is the heavy square slide and shouldn't have a problem with cracks anymore. The first 3 slides were round. It does have a feeding problem at the moment, but the owner feels it can be repaired without another trip to eaa.

3 years 27 weeks ago, 2:10 AM

Ishootdaily

Ishootdaily's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
4375
Join Date:
Feb 2009
Location:
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States

This is a direct copy of a CZ 75....

Hell the parts all interchange with the most minor filing....

I've a 75b 9 mm. that I swap the EAA 40 slide onto when I feel like shooting 40.

The 10mm also has had some issues with the slide cracking at the back of the ejection port.

No sir, he fell into that bullet... Never argue with a stupid person. They'll just drag you down to their level and beat you with experience!!

Rating Overview


Performance:
Features:
Appeal:
This text will be replaced

Recent Activity