Glock 17 (9mm Chamber) Gun Review

Polymer handguns can be easily frowned upon by many gun enthusiasts. Some call it "plastic" or "Tupperware" because it is light and the feel of polymer can make the gun look cheap. But leave it to Glock to change how a gun enthusiast will look at polymers.

Performance

The Glock 17 chambered for 9mm bullets is one of the few polymer made handguns that can impress many gun owners. The gun has a barrel length of 4.49 inches and weights more than 600 grams. Out of the box, the gun comes with 17-round capacity magazine. This feature could be a problem in some states (California and Massachusetts) since hand guns are only allowed to have 10-round capacity magazine. Fortunately, a compatible 10-round magazine could be purchased from most gun shops.

Features

The handle of the Glock 17 is very ergonomic. The angle is more obtuse compared to other handguns but first time users will have no problem handling the gun. The gun doesn't have a hammer but that doesn't mean it's inferior in terms of quality. Glocks don't just release guns that do not live to its claim of quality and the Glock 17 is no exception. Instead of a hammer, a striker inside the handgun is used.

The impressive feature of the gun is its safety. The Glock 17 does not have external safety feature but comes with a wide array of safety measures. Among them is the "Safe Action" system. This means the gun will not accidentally discharge since the trigger should be held at the center. The system also blocks the striker until the trigger is back to its original position.

Appeal

As expected, the Glock 17 9mm can be a bit expensive. Price starts at $550 and can reach $650 with accessories. But you will notice that in many websites they are all sold out which means gun owners are impressed with the gun because of its quality and performance. It's a great gun not only for self defense but also for an afternoon in the shooting range.

Summary

Parent: 
Headline: 

Polymer handguns can be easily frowned upon by many gun enthusiasts. Some call it "plastic" or "Tupperware" because it is light and the feel of polymer can make the gun look cheap. But leave it to Glock to change how a gun enthusiast will look at polymers.

Performance Rating: 
9.8
Performance: 

The Glock 17 chambered for 9mm bullets is one of the few polymer made handguns that can impress many gun owners. The gun has a barrel length of 4.49 inches and weights more than 600 grams. Out of the box, the gun comes with 17-round capacity magazine. This feature could be a problem in some states (California and Massachusetts) since hand guns are only allowed to have 10-round capacity magazine. Fortunately, a compatible 10-round magazine could be purchased from most gun shops.

Features Rating: 
9.4
Features: 

The handle of the Glock 17 is very ergonomic. The angle is more obtuse compared to other handguns but first time users will have no problem handling the gun. The gun doesn't have a hammer but that doesn't mean it's inferior in terms of quality. Glocks don't just release guns that do not live to its claim of quality and the Glock 17 is no exception. Instead of a hammer, a striker inside the handgun is used.

The impressive feature of the gun is its safety. The Glock 17 does not have external safety feature but comes with a wide array of safety measures. Among them is the "Safe Action" system. This means the gun will not accidentally discharge since the trigger should be held at the center. The system also blocks the striker until the trigger is back to its original position.

Appeal Rating: 
9.9
Appeal: 

As expected, the Glock 17 9mm can be a bit expensive. Price starts at $550 and can reach $650 with accessories. But you will notice that in many websites they are all sold out which means gun owners are impressed with the gun because of its quality and performance. It's a great gun not only for self defense but also for an afternoon in the shooting range.

Overall Rating: 
0.00

The only disadvantage most users will notice on Glock 17 is the recoil. For experienced gun owners, the recoil of Glock 17 is highly tolerable and will never be noticed. But first time users should be warned that it can be a bit challenging controlling the gun. The steep design of the handle can be a bit off for some users but practice can make everything normal. Owners of Glock 17 were even surprised that the obtuse angle is actually an advantage since this will allow accurate pull of the trigger. As already indicated, the gun will only fire when the trigger is pulled in the center.

Owners of Glock 17 will not just enjoy firing the handgun. The Glock 17 is also one of the few handguns today that can be accessorized in many ways. From the grip to the magazine, owners can improve their shooting experience or simply make the gun look better through additional accessories. For those who doubt the polymer grip, the optional handgrip accessory will allow improve handling.

31 Comments

5 years 5 weeks ago, 12:41 PM

Ironkoji

Ironkoji's picture

Rank:
Points:
397
Join Date:
Apr 2009
Location:
Dallas, TX

Marvin, you're accurate, with good word choices and phraseology. I like your no nonsense direct approach to detailing the facts, and pointing out special features as well as being reasonable to both sides of the ongoing i hate/i love glocks controversy. And you point out a couple of minor flaws as well as hitting the high points. What type of round would you recommend for this particular 9mm in terms of bullet weight and type of load? For example can the polymer frame handle +p loads? What about these exotic relatively new extended 9mm rounds such as the 9 x 21 or the 9 x 22 parabellum ultras that are supposed to fit and fire from any standard 9 x 19 chamber? My boys each have a Bul 5 Ultimate Racer chambered in the very powerful 9mm x 23mmSP rounds. How would the Glock stack up against a match weapon like the Bul 5?

Also there's a yellow warning banner on this post that reads: user warning: Table 'marvquin_gunslot.gunslot_rating_log' doesn't exist query: SELECT rating FROM gunslot_rating_log WHERE uid=3 and nid=3796 in /var/www/vhosts/gunslot.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/global/global.template.inc on line 386.

Koji

5 years 5 weeks ago, 1:23 PM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6793
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States
I personally am

a huge fan of Glocks,I own a G19 and 26,and i like the grip and feel of the weapon and can shoot them in the upper 40 out of 50 range consistently,i can pick up a quick site picture/alignment and have a good level of confidence that it is going to go bang when i pull the trigger no matter what ammo i have put in them,but i have not tried the 9x 21,22,but thats gonna happen here soon.
I am also in the market for an HK pistol,i just need to decide whether to go to the .45 or stay with 9MM,and i'm gonna accessorize the hell out of it.I used to have many different calibers of handguns but have been selling and trading around to streamline my collection,typical addictive behavior i think.

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
5 years 4 weeks ago, 12:27 AM

judge_harper

judge_harper's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant Colonel
Points:
63
Join Date:
Nov 2009
Location:
St. Joseph, Missouri
the glock

I have owned several glocks. They are a very good gun for the money.
the model 26 looks cool with a 33 round magazine sticking out of it.
I got a model 34 yesterday.
It shoots very well. longer barrel, longer sight radius.

5 years 5 weeks ago, 2:05 PM

Ironkoji

Ironkoji's picture

Rank:
Points:
397
Join Date:
Apr 2009
Location:
Dallas, TX

talk that one over with Rashi, although he's more of a researcher and writer type and doesn't really do the couch trip gig. I'm really happy to hear you're open to trying these extended 9mms. There are lots of people out there who are just frightened to death of these things. Other people do the I don't believe it for a second gig. I have personal experience and my boys now even have more than I do, because those Bul 5s of there's are in fact chambered for the 9mm x 23mmSP parabellum ultra magnums. They are amazingly powerful. If you have never fired one before, be ready for quite a bit of shock. You'll simply be amazed. I'm a big fan of these rounds, mostly from my experience with the bullpup rifle that I have that's chambered in the 9mm x 21mm parabellum magnum round. This is a rifle that fires a pistol round, so it's quite a bit different than firing one from a pistol. Just remember, you absolutely cannot fire the 9mm x 23mmSP rounds from a standard 9mm x 19mm. It's not that they won't fit. They will. It's that you're likely to rupture your chamber because these rounds are specially designed to be fired from special chambered parabellum class pistols like my boy's Bul 5s. They easily are as powerful as any .45 acp. I know, it was hard for me to believe it too, but the first time I fired my oldest boy's Bul 5, I was shocked at the sheer power of the round. My boys think they're a lot of fun. My younger son actually said. "hey dad, these things are a blast!" I really couldn't believe he'd use such a horrid pun, but he did. 15 year olds. The 9 x 21s and the 9 x 22s will fit any standard 9mm x 19mm pistol. They seat the bullets a bit deeper into the neck, and that's the secret. The 9 x 21 is similar in power to a .38 special. You can ask Victor about that one, because he knows. That's the one I have most experience with. Those 9 x 23SPs are scary. Once you try these things, you'll be a sold 9mm fan forever. I know I am. This is my opinion of course, but it is a considered opinion based on personal experience with these rounds and observing my boys as they gain experience with their Bul 5s.

Koji

5 years 5 weeks ago, 3:37 PM

Anonymous

they are high powered and accurate and all that but what they are not is easily found for purchase.If a person is a handloader then the availability is a as close as your reloading press.I will stick with .45 ACP and 9x19 Luger for my carry weapons,because if i run low on ammo away from the house i am probably going to find some at a gun shop or walmart.not so with these hot rod 9's.

5 years 5 weeks ago, 2:15 PM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6793
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States
i don't need a shrink

i already ride a Harley,and you will never see a Harley parked outside a shrinks office,LOL

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
5 years 5 weeks ago, 2:40 PM

greg az

greg az's picture

Rank:
Secretary of Homeland Security
Points:
5873
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
New York, NY, Zambia

Not sure with so many RUBies around.. if there is one in front it belongs to the shrink..
Get so tired of seeing these guys who have never had more than a toy run, or ridden in snow, dirt, or heavy rain, would have no idea what a flat head is or how to fix one.. Don't get me wrong my back wouldn't let me kick a high compression sporty today, but at least I remember the drill, and how to make sure it didnt kick back. There should be a law that you have to be able to fix one before you dress up in your brand new leathers and prance around like a doberman in heat.

a man has to hold his word, hold his beliefs, and hold a good sight picture.
5 years 5 weeks ago, 8:49 AM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6793
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States
Greg az add to my list

i know you have got a few to bro

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
5 years 6 days ago, 6:07 PM

Schuyler

Schuyler's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
3905
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States

single cylinder. It had a compression release on the bar. The idea was to pull the release, kick down, and release the release (?) at the bottom of the stroke. Matchless would then kick into life. The torque on that sucker was unbeliveable. It would crawl right up the side of a building if you let it. P.S. I've fallen off every bike I have ever owned, which is about six, IIRC.Today I;d be called a Rubie, bit it tweren't always so.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke
5 years 5 weeks ago, 8:47 AM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6793
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States

on the RUBs(shudder)me and my buddies say" if you haven't been trapped between your bike and a gas pump you haven't ridden long enough".And my 77 XLCH has made me lie down next to it many times as my knee and the air around me turned blue!My panhead kicked over easier!the softail has no kicker but pushing that button is so easy,but there would be fewer "harley riders" if there was no button.My next bike i am building from the ground up and it's gonna have both,unless i get a good deal on a bigass motor.
That's another thing,i can tear down a harley motor and tranny myself,and so can both my brothers,my youngest son,he went to MMI in phoenix for the harley program,and my nephew went to MMI as well.

Oh yah,if you haven't had to jack up your bike on a roadside metal barricade to fix a flat rear tire,you haven't ridden long enough.

If you haven't held onto a passenger side car door post so you could be towed into the next town,you haven't ridden long enough.

If you haven't gotten a free tank of gas at a gas station because the attendant thinks your bike is the "coolest',you haven't ridden long enough.

If you haven't gotten caught in a torrential downpour and kept on ridding with a big shit eating grin on your face,you haven't ridden long enough.

If haven't been arrested and your bike impounded just because you were broke down in a bad town,you haven't ridden long enough.

If you haven't been flashed by some lady walking down the sidewalk just cause your going by on your bike,you haven't ridden long enough.

If it's taken you 20 minutes to get into the bar for your first beer because all these good lookin ladies keep wanting a ride,you haven't ridden long enough.

and finally if you have never set the throttle lock and leaned back on your sissy bar and drifted down the road no handed,you haven't ridden long enough

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
5 years 5 weeks ago, 9:25 AM

greg az

greg az's picture

Rank:
Secretary of Homeland Security
Points:
5873
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
New York, NY, Zambia
great memorys lucky

yep rode from Tucson to Sierra Vista Az every week, and once on the interstate i would screw down the throttle and kick back.. course i might have been styln in those pre rubie days. Speaking of styling i laid my electraglide down in Prescott once (this while parked, and another story) so im trying to pick it up quick before i draw a crowd, old guy comes up pushn 80 and not lookn to fit (fact, I WAS) so im (thinking) sure gramps, ol boy reaches out grabs bars and "bounces" up and down a couple of times. my FLH jumped up like it had been goosed. Old boy was so cool turnd and just walked away.. I had ridn for oh maybe 35 yrs at that point.. never heard of it... talked to some guys since who have heard of it but not seen it, one of those things that make you go hum..

a man has to hold his word, hold his beliefs, and hold a good sight picture.
5 years 5 weeks ago, 10:19 AM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6793
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States
very cool story

Thanks,i have never heard of the "bounce" myself.There is a bike run in WI called the flood run,it goes thru a series of small towns,one being named Hard Rock.In Hard Rock there is a very nice city park where a lot of bikes gather to drink and mingle.There is also a train track going thru the park.Bikes of all makes back up to the track and park.One RUB parked his new Bagger to close to the track,that's right a train came in at about 20 mph,hit the ass end of that bike and tumbled it down the track,taking about 6 other bikes with it!Disclaimer(only one Harley was killed or injured in the telling of this story).LOL

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
5 years 5 weeks ago, 8:58 AM

zx12rmike

zx12rmike's picture

Rank:
President Pro Temp
Points:
7870
Join Date:
Dec 2008
Location:
commiefornia, United States
Who is this Marvin guy

Who is this Marvin guy anyways, never heard of him. I guess he posts once in long long long time, did I say looooooong time,lololol

"We cannot defend freedom abroad by deserting it at home" Thomas Jefferson
5 years 5 weeks ago, 9:20 AM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States

He is the owner of this site along with Quinton. They bounce in and out occasionaly, not often enough, to add their wisdom to the site. Even though they can't or won't fix the PM announcement feature....
So if you see them say HI, next time, which may be a looooooooong time from now.

5 years 5 weeks ago, 9:28 AM

zx12rmike

zx12rmike's picture

Rank:
President Pro Temp
Points:
7870
Join Date:
Dec 2008
Location:
commiefornia, United States

Yea I know, that was my point!! Marvin throws in this post because of a Glock enthusiast, then runs off and hides in the corner again!

"We cannot defend freedom abroad by deserting it at home" Thomas Jefferson
5 years 5 weeks ago, 9:30 AM

greg az

greg az's picture

Rank:
Secretary of Homeland Security
Points:
5873
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
New York, NY, Zambia

I mean .. heck i knew, and i dont know shit.. no comments would be appreciated here...

a man has to hold his word, hold his beliefs, and hold a good sight picture.
5 years 5 weeks ago, 9:31 AM

zx12rmike

zx12rmike's picture

Rank:
President Pro Temp
Points:
7870
Join Date:
Dec 2008
Location:
commiefornia, United States
agreed,lol

agreed,lol

"We cannot defend freedom abroad by deserting it at home" Thomas Jefferson
5 years 5 weeks ago, 10:15 AM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States

I try to be the arbiter of good tidings and joy, when I can.

5 years 4 weeks ago, 9:24 AM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States

Enlighten an old geezer.

5 years 4 weeks ago, 10:21 AM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6793
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States
SamD

Rich Urban Biker,only drive their bikes on weekends,trailer their bikes to bike runs,offload around the corner to their favorite watering hole and park for the week.Pretenders.

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
5 years 4 weeks ago, 10:43 AM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States

but you cleared that up for me.
samD

5 years 4 weeks ago, 11:06 AM

greg az

greg az's picture

Rank:
Secretary of Homeland Security
Points:
5873
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
New York, NY, Zambia

Most all of us "graduated" into larger bikes, and over the years you learn how to repair, and actually ride, meaning dealing with snow and rain etc. When the company got to the point of being almost trouble free, they became the new "red sports car" for middle age guys who are having trouble with thier "sets" shrinking, the thing is that rather than acting like newbies which is ok, they all dress up in brand new leather and pose like billy bad ass... which they absolutly are not.

a man has to hold his word, hold his beliefs, and hold a good sight picture.
5 years 4 weeks ago, 11:11 AM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States

they look like they belong on Castro Street in San Francisco. LOL

5 years 6 days ago, 5:52 PM

hoehappa

hoehappa's picture

Rank:
Private First Class
Points:
3
Join Date:
Nov 2008

what up wit bike crap on gun page?

5 years 6 days ago, 5:55 PM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States

Be flexible and loose. We talk about anything...

5 years 6 days ago, 5:56 PM

Schuyler

Schuyler's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
3905
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States

You make a grand total of two posts in over a year and you're worried about protocol and appropriate posts? We're having a conversation here. This isn't school; were allowed to ramble a bit. Get over it.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke
5 years 6 days ago, 6:00 PM

zx12rmike

zx12rmike's picture

Rank:
President Pro Temp
Points:
7870
Join Date:
Dec 2008
Location:
commiefornia, United States

happa-Well don't bikers usually carry at least a 9mm. It still has to do guns, feel better now?

"We cannot defend freedom abroad by deserting it at home" Thomas Jefferson
4 years 15 weeks ago, 7:43 AM

HampsterW

HampsterW's picture

Rank:
Secretary of State
Points:
7723
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States
I am not sure that

I dare click on the dude aboves link, I might get a nasty virus!!!!

Change you can truly believe in comes from the barrel of a gun---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ron Paul 2012----Vote the bastards out!---------------------------------
3 years 49 weeks ago, 4:45 PM

KS101010

KS101010's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
120
Join Date:
Jan 2011
Location:
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
I LOVE MY GLOCK!!!

I LOVE MY GLOCK!!!

2 years 40 weeks ago, 11:22 AM

Gunslinger_USA

Gunslinger_USA's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
132
Join Date:
Mar 2012
Location:
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Glock 17

I love to shoot the Glock 17. It has a nice trigger pull, and it's lightweight, but very heavy duty, and it's really rugged for a pistol. You can also a get a 33 round extended magazine for it as well.

Always keep your powder dry, and your eyes on the target.

Rating Overview


Performance:
Features:
Appeal:
This text will be replaced

Recent Activity