glock 19 review

I found the overall experience satifing and above average, yet i dont know what everyone is obsessed with!!

Performance

This weapon takes a hit when it comes to the durability due to the soft plastic used on the weapon. While I may not be a gunsmith, I am a Marine and if theres one thing we do...its treat our gear ROUGH!!! and these plastic peices just dont stand up to the test. However, the accuracy of the weapon was impressive and the ability to control the pistol was increased due to the light weight of it

Features

I was fortunate enough to be able to use the weapon with the night sights. I was pleased with the accuracy of which you can aim with only those glowing dots and prior knowledge of the gun. With the light attached to the front it does even out the weight that was disbursed on the gun. I was very impressed with the skill the Glock company was able to fit there peices together while keeping the weight distrabution even in and combonation of extras

Appeal

For visual appeal it is near the top of my list...lets face it, its a badass looking peice, very sleek and sexy for a gun. Then we get to the feel of the weapon and while it feels good in all but one aspect, I still have to knock it down due to the handle being too small. Now I know it is supposed to be a smaller handle but for my hands it is niether small nor perfect. It sits in an uncomfortable middle point that just does not allow my fingers to rest. However i do take into the fact that i have large hands. so I deal with it

Summary

Parent: 
Headline: 

I found the overall experience satifing and above average, yet i dont know what everyone is obsessed with!!

Performance Rating: 
7.7
Performance: 

This weapon takes a hit when it comes to the durability due to the soft plastic used on the weapon. While I may not be a gunsmith, I am a Marine and if theres one thing we do...its treat our gear ROUGH!!! and these plastic peices just dont stand up to the test. However, the accuracy of the weapon was impressive and the ability to control the pistol was increased due to the light weight of it

Features Rating: 
10
Features: 

I was fortunate enough to be able to use the weapon with the night sights. I was pleased with the accuracy of which you can aim with only those glowing dots and prior knowledge of the gun. With the light attached to the front it does even out the weight that was disbursed on the gun. I was very impressed with the skill the Glock company was able to fit there peices together while keeping the weight distrabution even in and combonation of extras

Appeal Rating: 
9
Appeal: 

For visual appeal it is near the top of my list...lets face it, its a badass looking peice, very sleek and sexy for a gun. Then we get to the feel of the weapon and while it feels good in all but one aspect, I still have to knock it down due to the handle being too small. Now I know it is supposed to be a smaller handle but for my hands it is niether small nor perfect. It sits in an uncomfortable middle point that just does not allow my fingers to rest. However i do take into the fact that i have large hands. so I deal with it

Overall Rating: 
9.53

I found the overall experience satifing and above average, yet i dont know what everyone is obsessed with!!
For the summary, I have to say that this is a well balanced handgun that truly excels in the looks and feel department for what it is made. As well as the accessories and how there evenly balanced and well connected. Now with that being said, no matter who you are there is still the factor of the soft plastic peices the seem to gouge and scrap and leave dents with the slightest bit of rough natured use. I may be hard on my weapons...but shouldnt you be able to be?
I give this weapon an overall 8.9

17 Comments

6 years 12 weeks ago, 7:49 AM

Pkato

Pkato's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
3354
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, United States
I love this gun

I have smaller hands and it fits perfectly (and Glock does make different sizes in different calibers. I like the accuracy of the gun, although I have shot other 9mms that were more accurate. Durability of the gun could be questioned (as our Marine stated), but I am not as rough on mine as he certainly is...but then again, who is? I have always liked Glocks, have owned two, never had a mis-fire on either Glock!

PKato

Patrolman Kato
Firearms stand next in importance to the Constitution itself.
They are the American people's liberty teeth and keystone
under independence. -- George Washington
6 years 10 weeks ago, 12:53 PM

luckyblue

luckyblue's picture

Rank:
First Lieutenant
Points:
26
Join Date:
Sep 2008
Location:
lawrenceville, ga, United States
thanks

I currently have a witness 45apc. its not bad just a lil on the heavy side.... but im looking for somthing to conceal and carry with me every where i go .i heard this was the gun to get, what do yall think? and what prices do they range from? or what should i pay for a good one.
thanks!
hoooah!

6 years 10 weeks ago, 1:04 PM

Reaper308

Reaper308's picture


Rank:
Secretary of Defense
Points:
6226
Join Date:
Jun 2008
Location:
Airstrip One, Oceania
g19

its pretty good for carring. I carry the g23, which uses the same frame (size) but its a .40. New they'll be around $500 and you can get a used one for $250-$350.

"Proelium Comminus Auctoritate" "Sometimes the light at the end of the tunnel is a muzzle flash."
6 years 10 weeks ago, 3:32 AM

b4badar

b4badar's picture

Rank:
Master Sergeant
Points:
19
Join Date:
Sep 2007

dats in my wish list :P

6 years 1 week ago, 12:01 PM

runawaygun762

runawaygun762's picture

Rank:
Vice President
Points:
8929
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Richland, MO, United States
Glock 19

I have owned several models of glock, and personally agree that the G19 is one of the best overall handguns out there. With respect to the comment about the soft plastic and how rough Marines treat their gear, the polymer frame of a glock is more durable than any steel frame gun out there. Steel is much more likely to warp and crack, as it has no "give" to it. I had a model 23 in .40 S&W, but I find the recoil of the 40 to be very snappy and more difficult to get back on target. I'm not saying it's not possible to be very fast with a .40, but with the same amount of practice, you can be that much faster with the easily controlled 9mm in the G19. I have about 2,000 rounds through my G19 and so far not a single problem. For anyone looking for a durable, reasonably accurate, reliable self defense gun, the G19 is hard to beat.

"I have always been a soldier. I have known no other life. The calling of arms, I have followed from boyhood. I have never sought another." From The Virtues of War, by Steven Pressfield.
6 years 1 week ago, 12:05 PM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States
Welcome runawaygun762

Hey a fellow Arizonan.
samD here in Green Valley, AZ. Spent the month of July in Bisbee. At the RV park above the Copper Mine Pit. Would have the steady trail of illegals behind the fence every night. Border Patrol came once in almost 30 days.
I too love my Glock 19, good size, accurate, reliable and eats most ammo that I throw at it.
Like I say, the guys with the small penises have to get the BIG Guns for compensating... LOL
Again Welcome and enjoy.

5 years 47 weeks ago, 8:07 PM

Schuyler

Schuyler's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
3905
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States

The Glock 19 fits perfectly. I tried a snub nosed sub-cmpact and I could only get two fingers on the grip with the pinky hanging loose. Boy, that just didn't feel secure to me. I had visions of the thing spinning out of control because I couldn't grip it. The 19 grip is perfect. Guess I have medium hands--they couldn't be as ham fisted as greasy!

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke
5 years 47 weeks ago, 8:35 PM

GLOCKSTER

GLOCKSTER's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant General
Points:
1585
Join Date:
Dec 2008
Location:
THAT ONE PLACE IN, ALABAMA, USA

never shot a g19 but i own a 17 a 21 and a 23 19 will probally be my next one

If guns are outlawed I'LL BE AN OUTLAW!!!!!!!!! If guns kill people then beds cause pregnancy.
5 years 15 weeks ago, 3:08 PM

Blackshirt Raider

Blackshirt Raider's picture

Rank:
Corporal
Points:
5
Join Date:
Aug 2009

Reliable ergonomic firearm. Good accuracy at 25 yards. Price to value is above average. Only difference in all Glocks is the Cal and size. A basic firearm, not too pricey and gets the job done. Not much more to say except very good safety controls if that is you thing.

4 years 43 weeks ago, 9:15 PM

wario

wario's picture

Rank:
Master Sergeant
Points:
16
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States

the Glock 19 will go down in history as one of the best handguns ever... Wonderful gun, especially for the price. It's been overshadowed by recent Springfield guns, but none the less it's a great gun that needs no apologize.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
4 years 36 weeks ago, 3:33 PM

Lyle Hutchins 1

Lyle Hutchins 1's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant General
Points:
1261
Join Date:
Feb 2009
Location:
Cee-more, Ok., United States
Glock 19-C

I have the compensated Glock 19, I can hit a torso size target at 50 Yards, 12 out of 15 times on average.
My Instuctors give me HELL after qualifactions, because they say I waste ammo shooting,at 50 yards. When I was in CLEET (Police Academy) my instructor explained " You need to Know What Your gun will do. Also the same with the shot gun.

Lyle

Lyle Hutchinson
4 years 36 weeks ago, 3:53 PM

CharlesW

CharlesW's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
4860
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Location:
Live in the wilderness, Republic of Texas, United States

at 50 yards is like telling a NASCAR driver
he waste fuel at 190mph.
Anything my life depends on I'm going to
know its limits and my limits

A little rebellion is good medicine for the government Thomas Jefferson
4 years 36 weeks ago, 3:46 PM

CharlesW

CharlesW's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
4860
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Location:
Live in the wilderness, Republic of Texas, United States

what your gun will do and also what you
can do with that gun.
My wife shot regular a few years ago
100 yards with a Ruger Super Black Hawk
44 mag 71/2 and scored
practice practice practice

A little rebellion is good medicine for the government Thomas Jefferson
4 years 36 weeks ago, 5:06 PM

Schuyler

Schuyler's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
3905
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States

For God's sake say something! I'm going crazy over here!!!!

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke
4 years 36 weeks ago, 5:36 PM

CharlesW

CharlesW's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
4860
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Location:
Live in the wilderness, Republic of Texas, United States

I had to whoop her ass and get it back

A little rebellion is good medicine for the government Thomas Jefferson
4 years 36 weeks ago, 5:37 PM

CharlesW

CharlesW's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
4860
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Location:
Live in the wilderness, Republic of Texas, United States

mabe for a long time

A little rebellion is good medicine for the government Thomas Jefferson

Rating Overview

Editor Rating:
User Rating:
(4 votes)

Performance:
Features:
Appeal:
This text will be replaced

Recent Activity