A hand cannon, not the biggest but still in there with the rest

Boom Boom McGuilicutty

Performance

It is pretty accurate although even with the heavy frame it really is more of a two handed pistol. When you use brass cased ammo it actually jams, might have been old ammo. But using Gold Dot hps it functions flawlessly. Also the concussion gives you a nice semi-circle that ants won't walk into! The trigger is like butter whether single or double action. It just melts beneath your finger and can fire a lot faster than your wrist likes.

Features

The only extras I have found besides miscellanous holsters is speedloaders. Honestly...don't like shooting it very fast. I think it may be possible to mount a scope for hunting or even just that badass look. The stock grips are wood and you can get rubber grips from Pachmayr and maybe Hogue...

Appeal

I like the sound of a boom. It is extremely fun to shoot and when I take it places everyone wants to shoot at least one shot. As far as a carry...it's a bit tooo big. Though maybe with a winter coat... It's definitely got a certain appeal aka aquired taste. Though I've heard of people using them for feral hog hunting.

Summary

Headline: 

Boom Boom McGuilicutty

Performance Rating: 
7
Performance: 

It is pretty accurate although even with the heavy frame it really is more of a two handed pistol. When you use brass cased ammo it actually jams, might have been old ammo. But using Gold Dot hps it functions flawlessly. Also the concussion gives you a nice semi-circle that ants won't walk into! The trigger is like butter whether single or double action. It just melts beneath your finger and can fire a lot faster than your wrist likes.

Features Rating: 
4
Features: 

The only extras I have found besides miscellanous holsters is speedloaders. Honestly...don't like shooting it very fast. I think it may be possible to mount a scope for hunting or even just that badass look. The stock grips are wood and you can get rubber grips from Pachmayr and maybe Hogue...

Appeal Rating: 
9
Appeal: 

I like the sound of a boom. It is extremely fun to shoot and when I take it places everyone wants to shoot at least one shot. As far as a carry...it's a bit tooo big. Though maybe with a winter coat... It's definitely got a certain appeal aka aquired taste. Though I've heard of people using them for feral hog hunting.

Overall Rating: 
6.00

Overall a fun gun that is definitly Smith and Wesson quality. I recommend at least playing with one at least once. I recommend using ammo that is steel cased as the expansion isn't as great as with brass. Though again the brass ammo I had was a little bit old. Be prepared to fork over some money though. The rounds are just around a buck a piece. Not bad for a rifle round..oh wait...it's a pistol. Granted I know there are bigger handguns like the popular 44 mag. This pistol does have a little bit of history as it was designed for police when they asked for an intermidary round between 357 and 44. The looks on the gun are just plain sexy if you ask me. It would be better with grooved grips as opposed to the smooth grips I have. I think the pachmayr or hogue is a necessity. Wood grips would just not have the grip needed. The gun does fit odd in the hand though. Still though I love ol Boom Boom.

6 Comments

5 years 44 weeks ago, 2:35 PM

Reaper308

Reaper308's picture


Rank:
Secretary of Defense
Points:
6226
Join Date:
Jun 2008
Location:
Airstrip One, Oceania

where does it say the type of firearm that you're reviewing?

"Proelium Comminus Auctoritate" "Sometimes the light at the end of the tunnel is a muzzle flash."
2 years 12 weeks ago, 7:56 AM

Hawkeye50317

Hawkeye50317's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
133
Join Date:
Sep 2011
Location:
Des Moines, IA, United States

i wonder, if we can correctly guess the the model that was being reviewed here, maybe we get a prize. This is a test. Yeah we'll go with that.:) At least it's narrowed down to Smith & Wesson and it's a handgun.

2 years 12 weeks ago, 9:20 AM

daisycutter

daisycutter's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
4413
Join Date:
Jul 2009
Location:
Arkansas

It would be a good guess that "ol Boom Boom" is a Smithy, does Colt or Hi-Point build a .41? Taurus and Ruger do, don't they? Both build fine guns.
Whom ever wrote the review did a swell job of trying to sound like a reviewer for a gun magazine, almost.
Post script; I fired a S&W .41 and liked absolutely nothing about it. I have 2 S&W Revolvers, they're great. Just something about their .41 did not work for me.

iyaoyas
2 years 12 weeks ago, 10:45 AM

Vaquero

Vaquero's picture

Rank:
General of the Army
Points:
5482
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Location:
West Texas
S&W Model 57

http://www.gunslot.com/node/38313/nodeparent
Followed the link under the heading of the review.

The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth!
2 years 12 weeks ago, 12:37 AM

greg az

greg az's picture

Rank:
Secretary of Homeland Security
Points:
5873
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
New York, NY, Western Samoa

NOT anything with the comments are the revolver.. I got on, and my key board decided it didn't want to do anything but let me push buttons.. got on and off (thru ctrl, alt delete) three times, then hung it up.

Really want to talk about this piece.. This is the first time ive seen the thread or would have been all over it... The 58 was the very first PPC modified gun i had ever seen and wow was it a knock off.. Little gun store next to the indoor range i've mentioned before in Tucson.. They had this in the case, and big time memorys..

First off theirs two of these (i didn't check Vaq's link, so if this is dup info sorry) the 57, and the 58.. Both of these are built on the big N frame.. the 57 has adjustable sights, and comes in 3 bbl length (21/2, 4, and ..hmm lets just say long.. obviously not sure) the 58 is one size 4" and fixed sights..

This is WAY odd cause all other Smiths have the lower number the standard.. ie fixed sights, no bbl length options etc.. eg on this is the 63 and 64 Stainless mod 10's.. the 63 is no frills.. Had one for a bit, my first stainless, and loved that gun.. anyway for the 64 Smith has adjustable sights and bbl length choices.. so for some reason they did it backwards on the 41..

This is N frame Smith at its best.. 41 oz (remember your 1911 is 39) of pure steel.. As i said the one that i got to "fondle" at the gun store was a PPC modified piece.. Don't remember much on what the mods were, out side of an obvious lightened DA.. This was so cool, cause the cyl had so much weight that the inertia of it rotating made it even easier to do fast DA trigger work.. I had more fun that day.. Up to that point i was really into 1911's, and i credit that N frame for my interest in revolvers, and Smith's..

a man has to hold his word, hold his beliefs, and hold a good sight picture.
2 years 12 weeks ago, 1:15 PM

nightfire

nightfire's picture

Rank:
Major
Points:
41
Join Date:
Jun 2011
ORIGINALLY 2008

I shoot the .41 mag. Except that I picked up a Marlin 1894 chambered in it and after Marlin rebuilt the rifle to actually function. It has become my #1 marauder rifle.
As for the pistol, I have it in the Ruger Redhawk(just traded off the Blackhawk" and nobody wants to shoot it and nobody cares.
There was some attempts with expanding or further marketing the .41 with Uzi chambering the 41AE and Desert Eagle offered it in their auto line.
But it is just another obsolete cartridge that is getting harder to find sitting on a shelf
But since I have a thousand empties
I'll be shooting it till I have to cast my own leads
As for the 'cannon' I did run across it in that 6oz. 2" Ultra Lite that maybe I should of bought, but I'd rather shoot a TC pistol chambered in 45/70 for the flame

Rating Overview

Editor Rating:
User Rating:
(1 vote)

Performance:
Features:
Appeal:
This text will be replaced

Recent Activity