Heckler and Koch's P30: "One Size Fits All" Service Pistol

The Most Ergonomically Advanced Service Pistol On The Market

Performance

Well, let's start off by saying its been designed by the trusty engineers at Heckler and Koch, so we can expect nothing but top notch performance, and that is what we got. Accuracy, Reliability, and Extreme Comfort combined into one package equals nice groupings. This will feed reliably everytime, and be as accurate as you need it to be. Now, unlike the HK45 series, this gun does not have the o-ring barrel, but this didn't seem to make it any less accurate. Also, the P30 being chambered in 9mm and .40 S&W can provide ease of one-handed shooting, and double taps. Also, reloads were quicker as the slide snaps shut when a full mag is inserted with force. Its just a nice little feature, nothing special... but nice.

Features

Once again, where do we start? Heckler and Koch have really put a lot of time and effort into this design. Same ambidextrious mag release, and slide release, forward and rear cocking serrations, and 3-Dot contrast night sights(They are more glow in the dark sights for people who are not familiar, they do not have tritium, they just glow in the dark when charged with a light source). Now the mag release is a little beefier on the P30 than the HK45c, and the P30 does not have the o-ring barrel. It still has the cold hammer forged steel barrel that you will find in all HK pistols as well as their Polygonal rifling. The real eye opener, and jaw dropper of this pistol is THE GRIP. The grip is amazing. With 3 different sizes (S,M,L) for backstraps, and sidepanels, (thats right, you can adjust the side of the grip as well), you can really custom fit your hand to the grip. It really does feel like you heated up the polymer, grasped the grip of the gun, and your hand was imprinted on the grip. It truly is THE BEST ergo grip on the market. nothing compares. This really makes this an ideal gun for concealed carry, or any duty/service weapon for any Law Enforcement Officers. 13rd mags in .40 and 15rd mags in 9mm. Like we have seen in other HK pistols, the P30 has the patented recoil reduction system with steel guide rod, that reduces felt recoil by 30 percent. It has a one-piece machined steel slide, that is stainless steel with a "hostile environment" finish protecting it from any weathering or corrosion. Unlike USP pistols, the P30 also has a standard picatinny rail on it for mounting any lasers/flashlights etc. LEM can be fitted to this pistol making it a light trigger pull, DAO gun with or without decocking button.

Appeal

Whats not appealing about this gun? The grip alone is truly enough to win anyone over. I think anyone who is looking for their first handgun, who has a decent amount of money to throw down on them, will easily be spoiled by this gun. If this had been my first handgun, I'm not sure if I could by anything different as the grips on other guns would just not match how good this gun feels in the hand. Everything else would feel poorly made or "blocky." I mean this gun makes some of the most ergo designed pistols on the market seem like lego guns. With the grip combined with HK's proven track record of reliability and accuracy, I cannot see why anyone would think twice about this gun. I only wish the HK45c had the same grip on it. If the HK45c had the same grip on it, I dont think any gun could touch it. Thats about the only thing missing from the P30 line is a .45 auto caliber. Now some say, well they have an HK45 and HK45c, thats the P30 in 45. Well.... no.. its not. The P30 grip is even more advanced than the HK45 ergo grip, and in a smaller package, and the HK45c doesnt have the ergo style grip at all it has the P2000 style grip. So all in all, if they made the P30 in .45 or made the HK45c with the P30 grip, that would be an untouchable gun. It would be the king of all CCW / Service Guns.

Summary

Headline: 

The Most Ergonomically Advanced Service Pistol On The Market

Performance Rating: 
10
Performance: 

Well, let's start off by saying its been designed by the trusty engineers at Heckler and Koch, so we can expect nothing but top notch performance, and that is what we got. Accuracy, Reliability, and Extreme Comfort combined into one package equals nice groupings. This will feed reliably everytime, and be as accurate as you need it to be. Now, unlike the HK45 series, this gun does not have the o-ring barrel, but this didn't seem to make it any less accurate. Also, the P30 being chambered in 9mm and .40 S&W can provide ease of one-handed shooting, and double taps. Also, reloads were quicker as the slide snaps shut when a full mag is inserted with force. Its just a nice little feature, nothing special... but nice.

Features Rating: 
10
Features: 

Once again, where do we start? Heckler and Koch have really put a lot of time and effort into this design. Same ambidextrious mag release, and slide release, forward and rear cocking serrations, and 3-Dot contrast night sights(They are more glow in the dark sights for people who are not familiar, they do not have tritium, they just glow in the dark when charged with a light source). Now the mag release is a little beefier on the P30 than the HK45c, and the P30 does not have the o-ring barrel. It still has the cold hammer forged steel barrel that you will find in all HK pistols as well as their Polygonal rifling. The real eye opener, and jaw dropper of this pistol is THE GRIP. The grip is amazing. With 3 different sizes (S,M,L) for backstraps, and sidepanels, (thats right, you can adjust the side of the grip as well), you can really custom fit your hand to the grip. It really does feel like you heated up the polymer, grasped the grip of the gun, and your hand was imprinted on the grip. It truly is THE BEST ergo grip on the market. nothing compares. This really makes this an ideal gun for concealed carry, or any duty/service weapon for any Law Enforcement Officers. 13rd mags in .40 and 15rd mags in 9mm. Like we have seen in other HK pistols, the P30 has the patented recoil reduction system with steel guide rod, that reduces felt recoil by 30 percent. It has a one-piece machined steel slide, that is stainless steel with a "hostile environment" finish protecting it from any weathering or corrosion. Unlike USP pistols, the P30 also has a standard picatinny rail on it for mounting any lasers/flashlights etc. LEM can be fitted to this pistol making it a light trigger pull, DAO gun with or without decocking button.

Appeal Rating: 
10
Appeal: 

Whats not appealing about this gun? The grip alone is truly enough to win anyone over. I think anyone who is looking for their first handgun, who has a decent amount of money to throw down on them, will easily be spoiled by this gun. If this had been my first handgun, I'm not sure if I could by anything different as the grips on other guns would just not match how good this gun feels in the hand. Everything else would feel poorly made or "blocky." I mean this gun makes some of the most ergo designed pistols on the market seem like lego guns. With the grip combined with HK's proven track record of reliability and accuracy, I cannot see why anyone would think twice about this gun. I only wish the HK45c had the same grip on it. If the HK45c had the same grip on it, I dont think any gun could touch it. Thats about the only thing missing from the P30 line is a .45 auto caliber. Now some say, well they have an HK45 and HK45c, thats the P30 in 45. Well.... no.. its not. The P30 grip is even more advanced than the HK45 ergo grip, and in a smaller package, and the HK45c doesnt have the ergo style grip at all it has the P2000 style grip. So all in all, if they made the P30 in .45 or made the HK45c with the P30 grip, that would be an untouchable gun. It would be the king of all CCW / Service Guns.

Overall Rating: 
10.00

Everything I already said pretty much sums this one up. The HK P30 is an outstanding ergonomically designed pistol, that does not sacrafice accuracy or reliability. I mean H&K really did not compromise anything on this pistol design. Good Work guys! I would say, and this is a bold statement.... If there was any way that Heckler and Koch could sell this weapon around $500-$600 and provide a 45 auto caliber, I dont think there would even be a company named Glock anymore. If this were possible, I don't see why ANYONE, would chose another gun. I just dont. If those two things were possible, this gun would have a monopoly on the polymer CCW market. PERIOD.

17 Comments

3 years 43 weeks ago, 7:53 AM

BluedSteelCharisma

BluedSteelCharisma's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
149
Join Date:
Dec 2010
Location:
Frontlines, North Carolina, United States
Bold Statement!

" If there was any way that Heckler and Koch could sell this weapon around $500-$600 and provide a 45 auto caliber, I dont think there would even be a company named Glock anymore."

But i agree, this pistol is phenomenal

The evils of tyranny are rarely seen, but by he who resists it.
3 years 43 weeks ago, 10:14 AM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6781
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States
apples and oranges

Glocks are designed to a certain price point,HKs are designed to different(higher) price point.Glocks have a entire network of internal replacement parts,sights,magazines,factory trained armorers,and holsters.HK has limited options(when you have the best,don't change a thing) in all categories.Not to mention the triggers,methods of getting the guns into battery,and safeties.

I would not feel undergunned with a Glock for any situation and for the cost difference(about 300 dollars) I could buy a Glock,extra mags,holster,and some ammo.But i would also say that the HK P30 is a fine weapon,and a 300 dollar difference will quickly be replaced by the cost of ammo to shoot either gun,therefore any gun you buy,you had better train with,preferably a lot.

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
3 years 42 weeks ago, 9:51 AM

HecklerKoch45

HecklerKoch45's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
176
Join Date:
Dec 2010
Location:
Ohio, United States
IDK about that.

luckybychoice wrote:
Glocks are designed to a certain price point,HKs are designed to different(higher) price point.Glocks have a entire network of internal replacement parts,sights,magazines,factory trained armorers,and holsters.HK has limited options(when you have the best,don't change a thing) in all categories.Not to mention the triggers,methods of getting the guns into battery,and safeties.

I would not feel undergunned with a Glock for any situation and for the cost difference(about 300 dollars) I could buy a Glock,extra mags,holster,and some ammo.But i would also say that the HK P30 is a fine weapon,and a 300 dollar difference will quickly be replaced by the cost of ammo to shoot either gun,therefore any gun you buy,you had better train with,preferably a lot.

First off, I do agree to some extent. However, are you saying that glock knowingly creates their guns to a certain price point and then stops? Im not so sure about that. Why would someone halt their design at a price point when they know of ways to improve it. That just doesnt make any sense. As far as parts and accessories, HK has plenty of parts and accessories. Look at HKparts.net You will find a whole bunch of them. Does glock have more? Yes, slightly. A lot of "accessories" for glocks are found stock on HK pistols, like steel guide rods, night sights (kinda cause they arent tritium on HK), recoil buffers, etc. HK comes with all of that stock. I agree I would not feel undergunned with a glock. Glocks are good weapons. By the way, not quite sure what you meant by different methods of going into battery, but HK has the barrel tilt into battery method too. They also have cold hammer forged steel barrels with polygonal rifling like glocks, but glocks dont come stock with a polished feed ramp like HK pistols do.

~Sig Sauer 516 Patrol 5.56 NATO~HK45 .45 ACP~HK45c .45 ACP~HK P30L 9mm~HK P30 .40 S&W~W. German Sig Sauer P220 .45 ACP~Walther P22~
3 years 43 weeks ago, 10:32 AM

Reaper308

Reaper308's picture


Rank:
Secretary of Defense
Points:
6226
Join Date:
Jun 2008
Location:
Airstrip One, Oceania
bravo

well said LBC. Both would be in my top 3 or 4 choices of manufacturers, although I have a lot more time behind the USP than the P30

"Proelium Comminus Auctoritate" "Sometimes the light at the end of the tunnel is a muzzle flash."
3 years 43 weeks ago, 3:31 PM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6781
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States
yeah absolutely

top 3 or 4 for sure.

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
3 years 42 weeks ago, 3:44 AM

BluedSteelCharisma

BluedSteelCharisma's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
149
Join Date:
Dec 2010
Location:
Frontlines, North Carolina, United States

this or a sig p226 bw tactical.....not sure though....never am when it comes to this sorta thing

The evils of tyranny are rarely seen, but by he who resists it.
3 years 42 weeks ago, 7:56 PM

tallguy007

tallguy007's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant General
Points:
1956
Join Date:
Aug 2010
Location:
yavin, outer rim, American Samoa
sweet

how much $$$$$$$$$$$$$$

DEATH BEFORE DISHONOR
3 years 42 weeks ago, 9:01 AM

HecklerKoch45

HecklerKoch45's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
176
Join Date:
Dec 2010
Location:
Ohio, United States
Id go with the P30

Id go with the P30 but Sigs are my second favorite. I think the P30 would probably be better for concealed carry and might be a bit more reliable, but the Sig will probably be just slightly more accurate.

~Sig Sauer 516 Patrol 5.56 NATO~HK45 .45 ACP~HK45c .45 ACP~HK P30L 9mm~HK P30 .40 S&W~W. German Sig Sauer P220 .45 ACP~Walther P22~
3 years 42 weeks ago, 8:48 PM

BluedSteelCharisma

BluedSteelCharisma's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
149
Join Date:
Dec 2010
Location:
Frontlines, North Carolina, United States
HK45

yea im about 80% sure im getting the p30 but i still have to go get my hands on the 226 tac ops or bw version , whatever, just to see how it fits in my hand as opposed to a standard 226(problably not much of a diff i know but its just what i do). I tried to go last saturday but apparently EVERY gun shop was closed on new years weekend. i thought i might get lucky.

The evils of tyranny are rarely seen, but by he who resists it.
3 years 41 weeks ago, 9:04 AM

HecklerKoch45

HecklerKoch45's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
176
Join Date:
Dec 2010
Location:
Ohio, United States

If you want a P226 that feels as good as the P30 does in your hand try the E2 style, they have thinned out the grip a little bit. It looks different but if you can get past that it feels great.

~Sig Sauer 516 Patrol 5.56 NATO~HK45 .45 ACP~HK45c .45 ACP~HK P30L 9mm~HK P30 .40 S&W~W. German Sig Sauer P220 .45 ACP~Walther P22~
3 years 39 weeks ago, 12:54 PM

bullwinkle229

bullwinkle229's picture

Rank:
Private
Points:
1
Join Date:
Jan 2011
P30 bliss

I've had my P30 for a year and a half and fired 6500 to 7000 rounds thru it and never had a failure. Flawless performance, typical of all my HK semi's. The best grip and fit by far of any 9mm I've had, or any gun for that matter.

Recoil is very tame, and with a Gripswell GS33 pistol glove even this old arthritic geezer can
fire way over 500 at a time and hardly feel like I've been shooting at all.

I'll keep this gun forever but I'm old. If you are a bit younger than I am (63) spend the extra
$ 250 to $ 350. more. If you keep it for 10 years or more thats 25 bucks a year, and for the reliability and accuracy it can't be beat. And if you conceal/carry like I do, spend the extra money for a pistol that is reliable to the nth degree. Your life may depend on it!

3 years 39 weeks ago, 12:38 PM

Texas

Texas's picture

Rank:
First Lieutenant
Points:
24
Join Date:
Jan 2011
Location:
Houston, TX, United States
Concealed Carry

I've been lusting after the P30 for about a year now, but have yet to pull the trigger...kinda hoping in the back of my mind that we'll see a .45 P30. But I won't be holding my breath--I figure the HK45 IS the .45 P30.

Either way, I've been thinking about picking this up as a concealed carry. Thoughts? Too big, small, or just right?

3 years 38 weeks ago, 9:00 AM

HecklerKoch45

HecklerKoch45's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
176
Join Date:
Dec 2010
Location:
Ohio, United States
well....

Texas, youre right about the .45. I dont think they plan on releasing a .45 in the P30. The HK45 would be about as close as you get to it. I spoke with HK and asked them why they didnt release the HK45c with the ergo grip, or at least a choice to have it over the P2000 style grip and the guy on the phone said, he didnt know why they didnt. He had asked them the same question and they dont plan on releasing a 45c with the ergo style grip. As far as the P30 for CCW I would say it is a perfect size. It is about the size maybe even a little smaller length than a glock 23 or glock 19. It is very comfortable to carry and the grip feels so damn nice. The only thing about the ergo grip on these guns is that sometimes it will rub up against your skin and that doesnt feel too good. That can be fixed easily by tucking in your undershirt or beater if you where something like that under your shirt. Otherwise it is perfect for CCW.

PS I have been carrying my fullsize HK45 recently and I am not a big guy at all... 5ft 7inch, 165 lbs. No problem. Especially wearing winter clothes. Just carry IWB. But I normally carry my HK45c which in my opinion is even smaller than the P30. I personally think that if the HK45c had the ergo grip, I would never carry another gun, the HK45c would be on my hip all the time.

~Sig Sauer 516 Patrol 5.56 NATO~HK45 .45 ACP~HK45c .45 ACP~HK P30L 9mm~HK P30 .40 S&W~W. German Sig Sauer P220 .45 ACP~Walther P22~
3 years 36 weeks ago, 7:21 AM

Texas

Texas's picture

Rank:
First Lieutenant
Points:
24
Join Date:
Jan 2011
Location:
Houston, TX, United States

Great insight, HK. Thanks.

3 years 36 weeks ago, 10:48 PM

Ishootdaily

Ishootdaily's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
4375
Join Date:
Feb 2009
Location:
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
HK45

I wish I knew the model as I would search for one to get hold of. But a friend of my older brothers had a Stainless HK45 back in 1983 that I really liked allot. I didn't get to shoot it but know for a fact that it was well balanced, not heavy as you would think by looking at it and from what my brother claimed it didn't recoil hardly at all....

No sir, he fell into that bullet... Never argue with a stupid person. They'll just drag you down to their level and beat you with experience!!
3 years 2 days ago, 11:10 AM

RETIRE-IN-ARIZONA

RETIRE-IN-ARIZONA's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
137
Join Date:
Feb 2011
Location:
CLIFTON PARK, NEW YORK, United States

If you are an AMERICAN,SMITH & WESSON M&P IS THE ONLY WAY TO GO.

3 years 1 day ago, 10:39 PM

ronin1604

ronin1604's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant General
Points:
801
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
killeen, texas
I'm an American...

And I LOVE my Sig P220 almost as much as my 1911! LOL!

__________________ "...He that hath no sword, let him sell his garment and buy one." - Jesus, Luke 22:36

Rating Overview

Editor Rating:
User Rating:
(2 votes)

Performance:
Features:
Appeal:
This text will be replaced

Heckler and Koch's P30: "One Size Fits All" Service Pistol Pictures (2)

HK P30
HK P30 at the Range

Recent Activity