I wouldn't buy it

I am telling you right now, there is one good place for this weapon and it ain't in my collection.

Performance

I the performance was not the best but it was better then that of a hi-point. This gun shoots fine and has a little kick back and kind of feels slightly shotty. Good enough for plinking and target popping.

Features

The features on this gun...it has sites. good enough I guess as long as you ain't betting your life on it

Appeal

The look of the weapon is not bad. It is plain and looks like a handgun should. It is a little big to be carrying it...speaking of that, do you know how hot this weapons handle gets in the Iraqi sun? Christ if there was ever a reason to switch to the Glocks that would be it. But unless your a Hadji, I don't see to many of you encountering this problem

Summary

Parent: 
Headline: 

I am telling you right now, there is one good place for this weapon and it ain't in my collection.

Performance Rating: 
6
Performance: 

I the performance was not the best but it was better then that of a hi-point. This gun shoots fine and has a little kick back and kind of feels slightly shotty. Good enough for plinking and target popping.

Features Rating: 
7
Features: 

The features on this gun...it has sites. good enough I guess as long as you ain't betting your life on it

Appeal Rating: 
7
Appeal: 

The look of the weapon is not bad. It is plain and looks like a handgun should. It is a little big to be carrying it...speaking of that, do you know how hot this weapons handle gets in the Iraqi sun? Christ if there was ever a reason to switch to the Glocks that would be it. But unless your a Hadji, I don't see to many of you encountering this problem

Overall Rating: 
7.90

This gun is plain, bland, cheap and sometimes jams if not perfectly clean. It is a good enough gun to have for tearing paper, shooting pop cans, or as a decorative paper weight. Also can be used as a light hammer(While un-loaded) If you need something you don't mind being an owner of a medium grade weapon or need something to throw some shitty cheap Russian ammo through then this is your weapon. I have to say that the accuracy is not the greatest btu is not bad. The looks are plain but good enough, and taking it apart, cleaning it, and reassembling is kind of annoying. Not to mention the fact that it is to heavy and large when there are better options out there.

18 Comments

6 years 8 weeks ago, 10:10 AM

jbrenize

jbrenize's picture

Rank:
First Lieutenant
Points:
23
Join Date:
Oct 2008
Location:
Akron, Ohio, United States
whoooooo!

I guess you don't like Beretta's! I used one for years and found it to be acurate, well functioning and a very fine weapon. Carried everyday and never failed me. I'm a retired fed. Maybe you had a bad one. I had a Sig like that. Maybe you have smal hands.

6 years 8 weeks ago, 10:30 AM

sytasyn_syn

sytasyn_syn's picture


Rank:
General
Points:
3614
Join Date:
May 2008
Location:
Michigan, United States

I'm 6'3" so if I had small hands I would work in a carnival! hahaha. Just don't like them and damn near no one in the service likes them either.

Be Kind and Courteous to All That You Meet, But Always Have A Plan to Kill Them -U.S. Marine Corp General-
6 years 4 weeks ago, 10:17 PM

runawaygun762

runawaygun762's picture

Rank:
Vice President
Points:
8929
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Richland, MO, United States
Beats a 1911

The Beretta is a very good service weapon. I have eight years as a Military Policeman, and of that, I have 39 months in Iraq, 6 months in Kuwait, and two months in Egypt. I have never had the problem of a hot grip on my sidearm. Now, the grip and buttstock of a mounted 240 is a different story. I cannot say I have never had a malfunction, but as far as I can recall, every problem I have ever encountered with the Beretta has been due to magazines. When you consider how many times these guns change hands, and how neglected and beat up some of them get, and how many rounds are fired through them during their service life, the Beretta is not a bad gun at all. It ain't a Glock, but it's a damn sight more reliable than the gunsmith's best source of income (aka the 1911). The biggest gripe with the Beretta is not the weapon, it's the ammo. 9mm is great for civilians or law enforcement who can pick the type of ammo they use, but as most of the military is restricted to FMJ, we don't get the warm and fuzzy feeling of trust in our sidearms. But I guess that's where belt-feds and frags come in....

"I have always been a soldier. I have known no other life. The calling of arms, I have followed from boyhood. I have never sought another." From The Virtues of War, by Steven Pressfield.
6 years 4 weeks ago, 10:24 PM

fordvg

fordvg's picture

Rank:
Points:
5761
Join Date:
Oct 2008
Location:
Fancy Farm, Kentucky, United States

I will take a 1911 45acp over any 9mm. The 45acp will take the target down with no problem.

"WAR IS A RACKET, I spent most of my time being a high-class muscle-man for Big Business, for Wall Street, and for the Bankers." Major-General Smedley Darlington Butler USMC Ret. 2 time Medal of Honor winner.
6 years 4 weeks ago, 10:25 AM

runawaygun762

runawaygun762's picture

Rank:
Vice President
Points:
8929
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Richland, MO, United States
Only hits count

While I agree that the .45 is a more potent round than the 9mm, the 9mm is much less expensive, which facilitates more practice for the money, and the 9mm has less recoil, to allow for faster follow up shots. Although someone can get very good with a .45, the same person will be even better with a 9mm due to the lighter recoil. My post was in response to the trashing of the Beretta, and anyone with experience with both knows that a GI M9 is more reliable than a GI 1911. Sure, you can get great reliability from a 1911, but at a cost typically higher than what you get with a box stock Beretta 92. As far as fighting guns for civilians or law enforcement, the Beretta and 1911 are both substandard, in my opinion, to the Glock, and as far as military arms go, the reliability and capacity of the GI M9 far outweigh the reliability and power of the GI 1911.

"I have always been a soldier. I have known no other life. The calling of arms, I have followed from boyhood. I have never sought another." From The Virtues of War, by Steven Pressfield.
6 years 4 weeks ago, 10:47 AM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States
runawaygun

Old habits die hard. "Big guns are better" I agree the 9mm with DPX or Hydro Shoxs is more than enough firepower to bring down a target with one well placed center mass or headshot. Double tap works much better...
I like the economy of my 9mm. I am not a rich man, retired actually and I am going to start reloading.

5 years 49 weeks ago, 7:46 PM

dirtyd046

dirtyd046's picture

Rank:
Captain
Points:
29
Join Date:
Jan 2009
Location:
TEXAS, TEXAS

i wouldnt buy a hi point nothing even if i was just looking to pistol wip some one

5 years 49 weeks ago, 6:48 AM

wyattcl

wyattcl's picture

Rank:
Major General
Points:
347
Join Date:
Jan 2009
Location:
In the mountains, Kentucky, United States of America
Beretta is ok

I carried a Beretta for while as a Kentucky Cop, but just didn't like the feel off it, I went back to my trusty old Colt. It just felt better and I don't like 9mm. I prefer the .45 acp.

"Those who hammer their guns into plows will plow for those who do not." Thomas Jefferson
4 years 37 weeks ago, 5:37 AM

CLIFTON0369

CLIFTON0369's picture

Rank:
Major
Points:
52
Join Date:
Jan 2009
BERETTA

jhb

5 years 44 weeks ago, 11:09 PM

BluesHarp

BluesHarp's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant General
Points:
709
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
Etowah, TN, United States
I agree.

The Beretta is a no thrills, no frills weapon. It is bland. It does need replacement clips from time to time. It can be tempermental when it is dirty. But a vast majority of handguns can be all of the above, even a Glock. I know that Glock's are not as prone to malfunction due to adverse conditions, but eventually all guns will fail if not maintained properly. My PT-92 worked flawlessly up to about 500 rounds, then it was time to strip it down and clean it. Which is what I would do every time I took it out for a spin. Mine worked without a hitch. As far as replacing the clip; I used aftermarket clips that had a much stronger spring in them. I had no trouble with these, so they never got replaced. I ran thousands of rounds through this weapon and the only malfunction that I had was with Cor-Bon's. That gun did not like those one little bit.

Go ahead punk, Make My Day!
5 years 24 weeks ago, 6:07 PM

Semaru13

Semaru13's picture

Rank:
Major
Points:
41
Join Date:
Jul 2009
M9

Ive used one,Had no problems as long as it was maintained,but I like my 1911 Gov-Model and my G17 better,Plus Ive seen a lot of Marine issed m9s
they look like they been thru hell.But if it works it works.

Looking into the muzzle of a gun is like looking into the afterlife.
5 years 15 weeks ago, 9:30 PM

Cool.Breeze.9mm

Cool.Breeze.9mm's picture

Rank:
Major General
Points:
485
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Bullhead, Arizona, United States

M9 was perfect when I was going through the academy.

Taking (a) life one controled pair at a time.
5 years 7 weeks ago, 6:44 AM

PBR Driver

PBR Driver's picture

Rank:
Brigadier General
Points:
245
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
Afton, Wyoming, United States
M9

We were issued M9's for a short time but did not like them nor the 9mm(sub caliber training round).
Sent every last one back to Crane and went back to 1911's. We did have some Sig p226's which I would prefer to the M9 any day if I to carry a 9mm.
M9's do shoot ok but for me Sigs shot better but the 1911 just fits my hand like it was custom fit for it.
Big holes let more warm blood out and more cold air in. Fact!

INDIVIDUAL LIBERTY NEVER GOES OUT OF STYLE. If you do not love the CONSTITUTION AS IT IS WRITTEN then you are free to leave MY COUNTRY at this time.
3 years 43 weeks ago, 9:38 AM

RETIRE-IN-ARIZONA

RETIRE-IN-ARIZONA's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
137
Join Date:
Feb 2011
Location:
CLIFTON PARK, NEW YORK, United States
BERETTA 92

Berettas are just O.K. Seem a little outdated.

3 years 43 weeks ago, 9:46 AM

sytasyn_syn

sytasyn_syn's picture


Rank:
General
Points:
3614
Join Date:
May 2008
Location:
Michigan, United States
My 2 cents

I will throw my experience with the M9 into this mix. While messing with pistols carried by our devil-docs, training at the range and just daily carry/cleaning... I have to say that the M9 was a let down in the feeling it gave will firing (jerky) and the inablilty to work when dirty. During my second tour we were given G19. As many of you know I am not a fan of glocks pre 4th gen. However I would grab a glock over a M9 any day. The only thing the M9 has going for it is the military issue aspect. As always my suggestions lay in the Smith & Wesson realm.

Be Kind and Courteous to All That You Meet, But Always Have A Plan to Kill Them -U.S. Marine Corp General-
2 years 44 weeks ago, 2:19 PM

PBR Driver

PBR Driver's picture

Rank:
Brigadier General
Points:
245
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
Afton, Wyoming, United States
My thoughts

sytasyn_syn wrote:
I will throw my experience with the M9 into this mix. While messing with pistols carried by our devil-docs, training at the range and just daily carry/cleaning... I have to say that the M9 was a let down in the feeling it gave will firing (jerky) and the inablilty to work when dirty. During my second tour we were given G19. As many of you know I am not a fan of glocks pre 4th gen. However I would grab a glock over a M9 any day. The only thing the M9 has going for it is the military issue aspect. As always my suggestions lay in the Smith & Wesson realm.

You are so right about the M9 in dirt, sand, or mud. When armory clean they shot ok however the Sig was more reliable.
The Glock would have been an interesting issue weapon.
I know some Spec Ops now carry some Glocks.
Seeing how these guys are "Confirmed Bad Asses" and shoot much more than the regular troops I feel the Glock would be a great addition for them.

INDIVIDUAL LIBERTY NEVER GOES OUT OF STYLE. If you do not love the CONSTITUTION AS IT IS WRITTEN then you are free to leave MY COUNTRY at this time.
2 years 44 weeks ago, 3:24 PM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States
sytasyn_syn

Just curious, do you have any combat experience other than being shot at while sitting on your ass splicing fiber-optic cable? Let the warriors decide on useful sidearms, like runaway gun...
Now you might mention what is the best splice case for your cable...lol

Rating Overview

Editor Rating:
User Rating:
(1 vote)

Performance:
Features:
Appeal:
This text will be replaced

Recent Activity