Ruger SR9 First time shooting

Performance

i shot the gun for the first time the other day, I don't have much experience with guns, I shot my first mag and had no problems I had to adjust the sights a little bit on my second mag, on about the third shot the shell didn't eject causing it to jam I cocked it a few times and it ejected it. After that everything was fine no problems I had to adjust the sights a little, the gun is very accurate after adjusting the sights

Features

The gun has a picatini rail system molded into the gun, awesome feature yo could install a flashlight, laser or flashlight and laser combo. Up top it has a load chamber indicator pin so you don't have to cock to check if the gun is loaded, this is excellent for safety also there's a safety switch. The gun is fully two handed from the safety switch to the mag release button. Adjustable sights is also a great feature.

Appeal

The gun's round figure is a great look

Summary

Parent: 
Performance Rating: 
9
Performance: 

i shot the gun for the first time the other day, I don't have much experience with guns, I shot my first mag and had no problems I had to adjust the sights a little bit on my second mag, on about the third shot the shell didn't eject causing it to jam I cocked it a few times and it ejected it. After that everything was fine no problems I had to adjust the sights a little, the gun is very accurate after adjusting the sights

Features Rating: 
10
Features: 

The gun has a picatini rail system molded into the gun, awesome feature yo could install a flashlight, laser or flashlight and laser combo. Up top it has a load chamber indicator pin so you don't have to cock to check if the gun is loaded, this is excellent for safety also there's a safety switch. The gun is fully two handed from the safety switch to the mag release button. Adjustable sights is also a great feature.

Appeal Rating: 
10
Appeal: 

The gun's round figure is a great look

Overall Rating: 
9.80

I've heard that a lot of people like this gun and they were right, this gun has very nice looks and very light and a very comfortable handle. And has good accuracy. It jammed once I don't know why but I guess all guns jam sometimes. I highly recommend this gun I feel really comfortable handling it. By the way I used winchester 115 grain 9mm ammo I haven't used and higher or lower grain but I heard nobody has had any problem with the other kind of ammo. There's some reviews on my space of the gun and some comparison to some glocks. A lot have said they do compare. They also are almost as light as some glocks.

6 Comments

5 years 2 weeks ago, 4:52 PM

Bracsim

Bracsim's picture

Rank:
Private
Points:
1
Join Date:
Aug 2009
SR9

I had no problem with my SR9, over 3 thousand rounds and never a jam, from now on SR9 will be my 24/7 carry gun, Ruger did a great job with this gun.

Bracsim
3 years 43 weeks ago, 1:33 AM

dying2live1more

dying2live1more's picture

Rank:
Master Sergeant
Points:
20
Join Date:
Oct 2010
Location:
Federal Way, Wa, United States

The SR9c is a great gun also. shot it multiple times and never jammed looks great and is very accurate. Worth every penny. thanks Ruger...

"A man isn't a failure if he falls, he's only a failure if he fails to get up and stand tall."
3 years 26 weeks ago, 3:51 PM

RUDY

RUDY's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant Colonel
Points:
87
Join Date:
May 2010
Location:
Texas, United States
SR9

If you don't mind me asking what is the price on SR9 ?

Rudy
2 years 31 weeks ago, 8:26 AM

Chuck73

Chuck73's picture

Rank:
Master Sergeant
Points:
19
Join Date:
Jan 2012
Location:
Dog Patch, Vermont, United States
SR9c

I purchased one a year ago. I have about 1000 rounds through it with no probles. The gun fits well in my hand. I mainly fire it with the 10 round clib, I do not care for the 17 round. The gun just doesn't perform the same. The grip spacer that goes on the 17 round mag tends to slip up and down. Makes it feel like the gun is moving around in your hand. I traded mine for an extra 10 rounder from my local gun shop. I can't say enough about this little gun, and the price is right at around $400. The gun gets 5 stars with me, I trust it enough to be my everyday carry gun.

2 years 31 weeks ago, 10:59 AM

Builtf0rdtough

Builtf0rdtough's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant General
Points:
903
Join Date:
Nov 2009
Location:
FL, United States

Id like to shoot one now, you say its comparable to a Glock huh? Wonder how well it would stand up with the strength testing and abuse they put the Glocks through. $400 isnt bad either, I paid 525 for my g23, so the price is good in my book, Im gonna try and find one around here and shoot it. I do like the way Rugers look.

"Socialism is the philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy"-Winston Churchill
2 years 31 weeks ago, 2:10 PM

Chuck73

Chuck73's picture

Rank:
Master Sergeant
Points:
19
Join Date:
Jan 2012
Location:
Dog Patch, Vermont, United States
sr9c

I only purchased my first Glock this year but have had quite a bit of trigger time on my friends. I am far from an expert on handguns but will offer this. Out of the box my sr9c was dead on. It has the same trigger safety like the Glock and a slide safety as well. I personally like the trigger pull on my sr9c better than a Glock. It has been dropped on concrete, gone swimming with me once in the river while fly-fishing. I ran 150 rounds through my sr9c yesterday when we were snowshoe “ing” up at camp. Gun cycled flawlessly. Only 18” and 0 degrees, minus 15 with the chill, bright and sunny Vermont day.

If the sr9c holds up like all my other Rugers, it will keep its five star rating. If you ever get a chance to test one out, you will definitely bring one home.

Rating Overview

Editor Rating:
User Rating:
(1 vote)

Performance:
Features:
Appeal:
This text will be replaced

Recent Activity