Sig Sauer Mosquito .22

Great little plinker!

Performance

Great performance out of a .22 semi-auto. Works well with CCI Mini Mags(factory recomended), It constantly fouling with other ammunition.

Features

It is 90% the size of the P226, So It fits well in most hands. It comes with 2 different sets of front sites. One for close to 25 yards, the second for anything further than 25 yards. Also the sites they use have a nice high visibility paint on them almost like night sites. It has a olymer frame and features an accessory rail, blowback system, fixed barrel, and many safety mechanisms. It comes in reverse two-tone has a stainless finish on the frame with a blued slide. Also In a more traditional stainless, a stainless finish slide and polymer frame. And Plain ol blues tride and true. Can get one with a threaded barrel or without. You can even get it in Desert digital camo. Many accessories fit on the accessory rail. And if you felt the need it comes in pink.

Appeal

Looks and feels like its more than a .22. Looks Great!

Summary

Headline: 

Great little plinker!

Performance Rating: 
10
Performance: 

Great performance out of a .22 semi-auto. Works well with CCI Mini Mags(factory recomended), It constantly fouling with other ammunition.

Features Rating: 
10
Features: 

It is 90% the size of the P226, So It fits well in most hands. It comes with 2 different sets of front sites. One for close to 25 yards, the second for anything further than 25 yards. Also the sites they use have a nice high visibility paint on them almost like night sites. It has a olymer frame and features an accessory rail, blowback system, fixed barrel, and many safety mechanisms. It comes in reverse two-tone has a stainless finish on the frame with a blued slide. Also In a more traditional stainless, a stainless finish slide and polymer frame. And Plain ol blues tride and true. Can get one with a threaded barrel or without. You can even get it in Desert digital camo. Many accessories fit on the accessory rail. And if you felt the need it comes in pink.

Appeal Rating: 
10
Appeal: 

Looks and feels like its more than a .22. Looks Great!

Very accurate and dependible .22 semi -auto pistol. Its a Sig Sauer you get what you invest in. With the right ammunition you will get hours of enjoyable plinking or target practice out of it. Shoot consistant tight groups within 3/4 inch @ 25 yards. The only down side is how much extra magazines cost for it, at least $ 30. Out of the box it comes with one magazine, the manual, the extra site, an extra guide rod spring which is heavyer for the higher velocity rounds, and the test fire target. Easy to field strip and clean, and like most .22 semi- auto pistols you cant break down the magazines.

22 Comments

5 years 9 weeks ago, 10:32 AM

zx12rmike

zx12rmike's picture

Rank:
President Pro Temp
Points:
7870
Join Date:
Dec 2008
Location:
commiefornia, United States

I gotta get me one of those.

"We cannot defend freedom abroad by deserting it at home" Thomas Jefferson
4 years 38 weeks ago, 1:43 PM

HampsterW

HampsterW's picture

Rank:
Secretary of State
Points:
7723
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States
Man O man

I am going to have to get a hold of some of those CCI mini mags,
we took my mosquito with us yesterday with 5 different kinds of
ammo, it jammed, it stove piped and in the end it just quit ejecting
all together.The first two mags were great but it went down hill from
there, I hope the CCI ammo solves the problem.

Change you can truly believe in comes from the barrel of a gun---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ron Paul 2012----Vote the bastards out!---------------------------------
4 years 37 weeks ago, 5:28 AM

Cool.Breeze.9mm

Cool.Breeze.9mm's picture

Rank:
Major General
Points:
485
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Bullhead, Arizona, United States

use cci mini mags and your only probmlem will be that damn wax build up on the feeding ramp of the barrel. If you try to use anything else through it, it will seem usless unless you put the other recoil spring in. But factory tested for cci mini mags and no problems. a box of 100 is like 7 bux.

Taking (a) life one controled pair at a time.
4 years 38 weeks ago, 2:37 PM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6793
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States
well i think

the 10 on performance is a bit over rated then.

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
4 years 38 weeks ago, 2:51 PM

HampsterW

HampsterW's picture

Rank:
Secretary of State
Points:
7723
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States
LBC, thats

the way it is looking from my point of view, I have never owned a gun
that was so finicky with ammo. I hope the CCI stuff works or I will have
a $300 paperweight.

Change you can truly believe in comes from the barrel of a gun---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ron Paul 2012----Vote the bastards out!---------------------------------
4 years 37 weeks ago, 5:30 AM

Cool.Breeze.9mm

Cool.Breeze.9mm's picture

Rank:
Major General
Points:
485
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Bullhead, Arizona, United States
LBC/ HampsterW

Its a 10 rating when its got the right ammo. I ran 200+ through mine with no jams, with the cci mini mags.

Taking (a) life one controled pair at a time.
4 years 38 weeks ago, 3:27 PM

greg az

greg az's picture

Rank:
Secretary of Homeland Security
Points:
5873
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
New York, NY, Germany

The one and only issue with any auto loader (no im not going into Shankapodamous hood) is that they will occasionally have feed or ejection issues, and one that apparently only really likes one type of ammo has got to be a bit shy of 10 just based on that..

My P-22's (and we love them) are finicky about not liking lead.. They handle all coated brands, all mfg's, and all bullet types, .. but lead.. I think in a lot of ways they are the best auto i ever owned, and ive owned most all excluding Glock, and carried and qualified with that for a decade.. They (the P-22's as im rambling) really are superior weapons, but i wouldn't give them a 10 based on just not liking one type of bullet, much less only having one bullet that works.

I've stayed clear of the whole Glock thing as i really do prefer wheel guns, and if anything have a special place for 1911's after collecting them for a bit, but i will share real world stuff with you that Glock dudes, and dudesses will like. In all the ranges i attended after we went with Glocks, and we would normally have 10-15 officers at a time doing qualifing with a course of fire that was (mandated minimum) 50 rounds.. It was very rare to ever see that hand go up.. This is the universal range sign of course for failure to fire, range staff would always shut down the range as soon as a hand went up, then the officer would do the tap rack drill.. We were all amazed at how few failures to fire we had with the Glocks, and i would bet money that most range O's across the country would say the Glock is the most dependable autoloader available.. Not necessarly the best, and ive NEVER liked not having a visable hammer (i think im in condion one) but as far as the go bang rate i would bet on the Glock..

a man has to hold his word, hold his beliefs, and hold a good sight picture.
4 years 38 weeks ago, 4:05 PM

samD

samD's picture

Rank:
President
Points:
15597
Join Date:
Aug 2008
Location:
Green Valley, Free State of Arizona, United States

Just curious...

4 years 38 weeks ago, 4:13 PM

CharlesW

CharlesW's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
4860
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Location:
Live in the wilderness, Republic of Texas, United States

I prefer the wheel gun if not in a combat situation
which I understand fully simi is best hands down.

I also prefer an exposed hammer on a simi.
That's why I love my Colt Gold Cup which I
have now lost to my brother for some trade
in the future LOL write that off, but he is a
Ranger so he needs to look good and have a
good weapon.

I also have a Baretta 22 which I will never see
again. My wife's best friend lives alone in the
Texas Hill Country. I gave her a 32 LC to
keep around the house. Her dope head grand
son stole it. I gave her the Baretta. Thinking about
getting it back in trade for a Rosi 5 shot 38spl. I
don't really need. The Baretta would make a good plinker for me.

Last I didn't tell you I sent a message, I knew you would
eventually find it. It wasn't real important.

A little rebellion is good medicine for the government Thomas Jefferson
4 years 38 weeks ago, 4:35 PM

HampsterW

HampsterW's picture

Rank:
Secretary of State
Points:
7723
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States

If the CCI ammo doesn't solve my problem, I will get in touch with
Sig on the matter.
CW and greg, I am with you on the wheel gun thing, I had several
.22lr six shooters in my younger days and they would digest any
ammo, good, bad or ugly.

Change you can truly believe in comes from the barrel of a gun---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ron Paul 2012----Vote the bastards out!---------------------------------
4 years 38 weeks ago, 4:40 PM

Anonymous

Hamp

make sure and try CCI Velocitor ammo.the Velocitor is a bit hotter than most and makes ny semi auto 22's run like a champ.it also worked well in a Walther i checked out.This ammo also works great in Ruger 10/22 rifles.find it!try it!

4 years 37 weeks ago, 8:58 PM

CharlesW

CharlesW's picture

Rank:
General
Points:
4860
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Location:
Live in the wilderness, Republic of Texas, United States

Hottest 22lr Iv'e ever seen

A little rebellion is good medicine for the government Thomas Jefferson
4 years 38 weeks ago, 5:13 PM

HampsterW

HampsterW's picture

Rank:
Secretary of State
Points:
7723
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States
Will do grease

thanks for the info, I have plenty of shit to shoot, but a gun that does
not perform has no place in my arsenal. With .22 it is not a big deal if
I have to buy brand X vs Y, the cost is not much, if this were happening
with my 9mm stuff, I would be pissed.

Change you can truly believe in comes from the barrel of a gun---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ron Paul 2012----Vote the bastards out!---------------------------------
4 years 37 weeks ago, 9:18 AM

luckybychoice

luckybychoice's picture


Rank:
Secretary of the Treasury
Points:
6793
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
United States
Hampster

coolbreeze put a nod in for the cci mini mags,give that a try,i'm gonna run some thru my 10/22 as well.

i tried being reasonable,i didn't like it, NRA LIFE MEMBER,USMC VETERAN
4 years 37 weeks ago, 9:31 AM

HampsterW

HampsterW's picture

Rank:
Secretary of State
Points:
7723
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States
I saw that LBC

I will run by Sportsman Whse. after work and pick some up
however I am a bit skeptical of a gun that will ONLY shoot
one kind of ammo reliably.

Change you can truly believe in comes from the barrel of a gun---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ron Paul 2012----Vote the bastards out!---------------------------------
4 years 37 weeks ago, 5:23 PM

Cool.Breeze.9mm

Cool.Breeze.9mm's picture

Rank:
Major General
Points:
485
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Bullhead, Arizona, United States

well it has the other recoil spring tht is for lighter loads but other .22lr rounds are as dependable anyhow. But the CCI mini mags have never jamed or misfired unlike federal and Remington bulk packs.

Taking (a) life one controled pair at a time.
4 years 37 weeks ago, 5:41 PM

HampsterW

HampsterW's picture

Rank:
Secretary of State
Points:
7723
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States
cool.breeze

I tried both springs with all ammo, l bought like five different brands (not CCI) I just grabbed anything that wasn't Remington (I knew it didn't like that). You know, I really want to like this gun, it is everything that you say in your review except for the shooting experience (ammo problem).....anywho, I will try the CCI stuff and see what happens.

Thanks for all of your input.
Hamp

Change you can truly believe in comes from the barrel of a gun---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ron Paul 2012----Vote the bastards out!---------------------------------
4 years 37 weeks ago, 8:36 PM

HampsterW

HampsterW's picture

Rank:
Secretary of State
Points:
7723
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States
Good news,

the sig likes the CCI ammo, just as Cool Breeze said it would. Thanks bro.
I am damn glad my Walther PPS is not like this, I just couldn't deal with a CCW weapon that was so "ammo sensitive".

Change you can truly believe in comes from the barrel of a gun---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ron Paul 2012----Vote the bastards out!---------------------------------
4 years 37 weeks ago, 7:50 PM

HampsterW

HampsterW's picture

Rank:
Secretary of State
Points:
7723
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States
LBC

FYI, the CCI ammo worked well, we had only one malfunction in 300rds.
Now it is time to break that sucker in...LOL!

Change you can truly believe in comes from the barrel of a gun---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ron Paul 2012----Vote the bastards out!---------------------------------
3 years 51 weeks ago, 10:51 PM

jatchannel

jatchannel's picture

Rank:
Lieutenant Colonel
Points:
74
Join Date:
Dec 2010
Location:
San Jose, CA, United States

We bought a Mosquito and have been running CCI Minimags through it, but after about 500 rounds through it, even the CCI is jamming about once every two to three shots. It's too bad too because this was the (IMHO) sexiest .22 semi-auto out there. I got it for my girlfriend but having to clear jams when you're trying to practice good marksmanship skills is really difficult and now I wish we had purchased something that looks more like a space-age laser gun, but which actually shoots well.

3 years 51 weeks ago, 2:30 AM

BluedSteelCharisma

BluedSteelCharisma's picture

Rank:
Colonel
Points:
149
Join Date:
Dec 2010
Location:
Frontlines, North Carolina, United States
been there before

jatchannel wrote:
now I wish we had purchased something that looks more like a space-age laser gun, but which actually shoots well.

sig mosquito got me too when it first came out, good idea just bad performance

The evils of tyranny are rarely seen, but by he who resists it.

Rating Overview

This text will be replaced

Recent Activity